We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hill Country location, lush hotel, could use more activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #46 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hill Country location, lush hotel, could use more activities”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Wow! The rooms are beautiful, the view is fantastic, the golf is amazing, spa is very nice. Food is great but somewhat limited on property. Fitness area is fantastic. Staff is very helpful and personable. However, for the level of resort Barton Creek is reaching for, is should continue to update its facilities (esp. the pool) and could definitley use more activities. There is a LOT of competition in this part of Texas, they need to step up their game to stay top-tier.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    473
    294
    188
    87
See reviews for
481
490
47
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I checked this place out to see if I wanted to stay here at another time. I didn't see any rooms but took a tennis lesson and walked around the resort.

This place was extremely busy at the time (July 2009); there were several business meetings going on....almost got run over a few times in the lobby.

It has a nice view and the pool looked very nice. This is a big place.
The tennis lesson was great; however, one of the courts had so many cracks in it we had to move....I did not expect to see this in such a high caliber resort.

Overall, it looked like a nice place; however, I don't know how relaxing it was since there was so much going on.

Also, the hotel is quite a distance from downtown...the streets are windy (but beautiful)

Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Blondetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I booked a king-room at for $219 "special, normally $336, that was meant to be newly renovated. This was a surprise for my husband's birthday. Upon arrival at 1pm we were told that the room was ready [normal ck in 4] which was great. I inquired if we were getting the renovated room requested and was told no, it's not renovated, but very nice....we think you'll like it. Further, the hotel is booked out for a wedding and "we cant be as accommodating as we'd like to be." The room was a huge disappointment, stained upholstery and carpet, chipped paint, hair in bathroom, no flat screen tv, etc. It was just very tired, and definitely on it's last legs. I chose this hotel because of the description of the resort and room.
The pool area was packed on Sat afternoon, apparently due to the wedding? There was a kiddie pool but no one was using it, the most I saw was 2-3 kids in it.
The wine bar/restaurant is very nice and a good staff. My husband was presented with a beautiful complimentary dessert.
Breakfast on Sunday was buffet at $19.95 which by 10 am look dried out and unappetizing. We elected to order from menu - 2 omellets , 2 juices and coffee was $55 what you'd get at Denny's for $15! There are no restaurants nearby and location is out of the way [one of the reasons I chose this hotel].
Upon check out, I voiced my displeasure over the state of the room and was given a $100 credit.
Mr&Mrs A, San Antonio

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We spent one night at Barton Creek over the July 4th weekend. One night (all fees included) was just under $300 - which I was willing to pay for a high-end place - but they couldn't find our reservation when we arrived, the pool was sooooo crowded you couldn't get near it, the food wasn't good (and cost $90 for 4 light lunches), parking was a challenge, and the place generally looked tired and worn.

We go to Austin often - there are many places in/around the city that are much nicer and cost less!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The best feature of this hotel is the service. Also the food was good and room service is quick. Was not that impressed with the room, bed is comfortable, didn't like the bathroom. We paid extra for a balcony, which is very small with no sitting. Pool area is very small have to get there early. We decided to stay here opposed to down town, glad we did was not impressed with the whole downtown area. Barton Creek area is beautiful, but not much to do. The spa is ok, didn't like the lay out or the womens locker area small and old. Yes, you can self park, but don't count on it you'll be lucky to find a spot.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytripsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
footdoc77
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We spent our New Year's here and had a great time. The rooms were clean, modern and relaxing. We enjoyed the nature trail and the breakfast buffet. The rooms are pricey, but, we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footdoc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TEXAS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

My wife and I had the greatest time this weekend. We played a round of golf at the famous Crenshaw course that bar none was as beautiful as it was a challenge to the amateur. Our dinner together was as fine as any restaurant in town with service that far exceeded most 5 star eateries. The room was impeccably clean and had a "new" feeling. The staff was happy to cater to our every want and need. But there were very few needs that weren't already thought of before hand. The grounds were beautiful and our naturewalk on Easter Sunday was delightful with the wildlife that habitats the Hill Country abounding the path. Breakfast was equal to our meal the night before. Simply topshelf service from a well run establishment designed to cater to a clientele that knows what service is supposed to be.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTerry09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 201 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing