We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort..but being ripped of is not fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #46 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Mason, United States
1 review
“Nice Resort..but being ripped of is not fun”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very nice resort if you are happy to pay a 21% service charge and $9-00 for a bottle of Fiji Water. (This is Texas and a gallon of Gas costs less than $3.50 water from this Hotel per gallon is $34.20)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience at Omni Barton Creek. Our sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay with us. Your review has been passed along to our director of rooms. We are in the process of switching all in room water bottles to Nestle Pure Life and offering a more cost effective option to our guests. While our feedback is generally positive, we hope to have an opportunity to win back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    491
    315
    196
    93
See reviews for
520
522
49
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very nice, comfortable room and entire staff was very friendly. The atmosphere is very relaxing even though staff is attentive to guests' needs. The valet staff was especially helpful and genuinely friendly without being pushy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our company had a sales meeting here. We filled the Forum Amphitheater with people from around the world. It was nice to meet work associates in person that we normally only talk to on the phone. The resort facilities were well matched to our needs, and from a personal perspective it was a nice place to visit. It would be nice to come back some day, but for a resort/spa vacation and not a multi-day business meeting.

The resort is about a 25 minute drive from the Austin airport. It's out in the hill country formally outside of the city limits (and a long drive from the downtown music scene). I think that was a good thing for our group; it kept us focused on our meetings.

I arrived close to midnight the evening before our meetings. The resort had a bus waiting for us at the airport hotel shuttle stand. That worked out fine. When I checked in, I was pleased to hear that I was "upgraded" to a villa room. This was sort of good, but the bad part was the villa was about a mile away and I had to load backup onto the shuttle bus and get a ride to my villa. The nice driver thanked me for not trying to walk to the villa, the roads were dark and the walk had lots of turns (he was afraid I'd get lost!).

My room was enormous. 2 queen beds, flat-screen TV, mini bar, and a balcony view of the golf course. The bathroom was bigger than the bedroom with all the fancy extras that you'd expect to find in a posh master bath. The walk-in closet was bigger than any of my closets at home. This was all OK, but there really wasn't a good work-space -- this annoyed me a little. Also, the room was stuffy -- there was no thermostat (that I could find) in the room. At night I opened the door to the balcony to get some air. This wasn't bad, it just wasn't setup for business travelers.

I arranged to have a courtesy van take me back to the main ground for my meetings in the morning; our friendly driver was on time. The hotel did a great job catering our breakfast, breaks, lunch and after-meeting events. This worked really well. Our WIFI and mobile phone reception was good. The hotel staff was eager to please.

I am a golf player and fan. This is a beautiful golf resort. Too bad I didn't get a chance to play. The main building had lots of pictures of famous golfers, celebrities and presidents who have played golf here. At my local indoor golf simulator (Bogies Indoor Golf), I played the Barton Creek's Fazio Canyons course. Someday I'll be back to Barton Creek to play the course for real.

Room Tip: VIllas are nice but very far away from the main building. If you are in a group, best to all stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

this place was awesome. everything was great! Elizabeth at the spa was so nice. Stephen the boot camp instructor was very helpful and detailed. I experienced Yoga on my stay instructor was very nice. breakfast was the bomb! Justin and his from desk team were great. they even let me borrow a cell phone charger bcuz i forgot mine at home in Houston!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chanice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

A short three day visit was enough time to enjoy this fine resort with wonderfully attentive and friendly staff. A free half hour shuttle from the airport was a good start to my conference stay. Main restaurants were great and reasonably priced, with a fun bar to boot.

Conference hosting was top notch - great facilities and service.

Golf courses, pools (outdoor and inside), fitness center and tennis courts were all nice and well maintained. A friend golfed 72 holes before our arrival - an avid golfer who's only complaint was that a couple of the holes were wicked.

Great stay - would recommend to any groups looking for a meeting or conference, or individuals looking for a getaway. Well done!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The place where Barton Creek Resort is placed is one of the nicest you may find. This was my second visit to BCR. I visited this hotel some years ago and it was great in all meanings. I expected to receive the same value and service in this visit. Unfortunately this time it showed poor maintenance and loose management signs, probably lack of general maintenance investment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alejandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience at Omni Barton Creek. Our sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay with us. While our feedback is generally positive, we hope to have an opportunity to win back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Spent a nice quiet weekend recently at Barton Creek. We splurged and booked a two bedroom Fazio Suite. It was truly a beautiful room, super spacious. The views are beautiful and I thought all of the staff were very helpful and friendly. There were a couple of minors things that kept things from being perfect. There are 3 bathrooms in the suite and 2 of the showers had poor water pressure and I kept jumping from one to the other for a nice hot shower. Also of note, if you are a light sleeper, try to avoid the top floor (7th). Even though you are not by the elevator, I guess the cables must run above the ceiling. So, starting around 6:00 am, you can hear the elevators moving and stopping. Not a big deal, but something to think about when booking next time. Overall, a positive experience at a nice price.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MollyGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 203 in Austin
299 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,936 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing