We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #46 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as nice as we expected”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This was an adequate place to stay but not as nice or well kept as many resorts we've stayed in at other places. Our balcony view was nice but a cup of cigarette butts were left there from a previous person staying in the room and don't expect to sit on the balcony of have privacy from your neighbors. No chairs on the balcony and its so small anyway. Our room included a breakfast buffet and while our server was nice the food was not good.

In addition, we noticed the walks are very thin and we heard children running through the halls. This hotel could really use an update and a good cleaning.

Be sure to use a credit card too. We mistakenly used our debit card to pay and not only was the charge from the room taken off, but an almost $800 hold was placed on our checking account for several days.

It was adequate if you need a place to sleep and shower but not what we were expecting out of a place that advertises as an upscale resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texashoneypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. I personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and would like to invite you to contact me directly at james.walsh@omnihotels.com to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    491
    315
    196
    93
See reviews for
520
522
49
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beckville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pros: This is a beautiful property, the food is delicious and the golf course is gorgeous.
Cons: The swimming pool does not fit the rest of the property, it is quite small and plain. It is pretty far from downtown.
You should ask at check in about activities being offered. We found out on our last day that Texas wildflower painting classes had been offered. I would have loved this if only I had known about it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanceMomTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities. Please visit our concierge next time for full details regarding our daily activities. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Enjoy the beautiful grounds and quiet atmosphere of this Hill Country gem! Fabulous breakfast and fantastic spa. We both had a great massage! Staff very helpful but rooms could use a little updating. Would love to return again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLWMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice big rooms,CLEAN!!!! The hotel was a bit worn. Great location. Friendly service. The pool area was nice also with service for lunch and dinner and great drinks. Stayed in the month of June so the pool was a great place to be because it was HOT!!!!. The breakfast buffet was great the food at the hotel was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities, excellent service by our team members & resort pool experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hill Country again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This nice resort about 20 minutes from downtown Austin, is a perfect weekend getaway. We paid 220/night which I would say you get what you pay for.

The rooms:
Large, nicely furnished, comfortable beds, very good a.c.
Seemed a little dark (like we had a hard time making it bright)
The rooms definitely could use a little face lift.

The resort:
The pool was very crowded, and small.
We had a hard time finding lounge chairs.
Once we did, we were able to order lunch and drinks. The service was great and the food was delish.
Same thing as the room, the pool area could use a facelift.

The breakfast buffet:
There was a wide assortment of options although the food was mediocre at best. The wait staff was friendly and did a good job. I expected better food.

The tennis:
Initially I picked this resort because it was one of the only tennis resorts in the Austin area. The courts were beautiful, and the tennis staff was excellent. I did an open clinic and private lesson both of which I enjoyed immensely.

Overall, I would recommend to friends and return in the future. Although, I do hope they update the entire property very soon, it needs it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenHock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. We continue to accommodate a higher number of guests at the pool during the summer months and am glad that the tennis facilities were enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recent stay of 3 days, 2 nights with breakfast buffet included. Room 351 facing Fazio Foothills golf course.

THE GOOD:
-Beautiful area and scenery
-Great view from room
-3 great golf courses to choose from
-Expansive resort with many activities
-Great spot for events or weddings
-A good vacation feel and escape
-Spacious rooms
-Good breakfast buffet in dining room

THE BAD:
-Evening arrival to no valet, no parking assistance or baggage help.
-Indifferent staff at reception and check-in. (A recurring theme over the weekend)
-Poor signage and directions to room or elevators
-Confusing hotel layout
-Analog TV for entire weekend, no HD tv and move rental system broken - no explanation or apology from staff
-Nice hotel but aged look and wear showing
-Low water pressure (looking forward to getting home)
-Parking spot is tough to find
-Repeated resort fee on everything gets old quick
-No GPS on the golf carts
-Be prepared to get paired with some random stranger if you don't have a foursome

FINAL VERDICT:
-Good to try at least once
-Come for the golf, not as much for the resort.
-Expect the resort fees on everything.
- A 4 star resort max.
-Valet park. Its pricey but the hassle of parking is worse.
-Anticipate a bit of attitude from the staff.
-Dont stay at the resort the entire time. Venture into Austin for variety.
-Swimming pool area is in dire need of updating. (Needs an infinity edge pool to maximize the beautiful views)

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end of the tower are closer to spa and better chance to find parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKCgolfguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback on all aspects of your recent visit to the resort. We appreciated the feedback on the areas that were enjoyed along with the items noted for improvement. We continue to accommodate a higher number of guests during the summer months and I'm glad that the golf courses were enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while my wife attended a conference. As a hotelier I appreciate visiting hotels that understand the importance of staff service. Great job to all departments especially the dining room crew. As for the rooms, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The condition was average, everything worked as it should have but had some issues with lamps. Nothing major. Overall a great stay and will be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaheed U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 203 in Austin
299 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,936 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing