We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for a couple to stay in Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #51 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place for a couple to stay in Austin”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I took a weekend vacation to Austin. She wanted to do the spa thing and I wanted to play golf. This resort is very spacious and clean. The outdoor pool leaves something to be desired, but the indoor pool is nice. Also, the golf is top notch. The courses are all centrally located and maintained very well. The only disadvantage of the hotel is that it seemed to be pretty far from everything. However, I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hornedfrog98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our championship golf courses. Dallas Morning News recently awarded both Fazio courses as Texas' Most Beautiful 18. We are always looking for new ways to maximize our guest experience, and input from recent guests like yourself proves to be invaluable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    504
    323
    200
    99
See reviews for
540
543
51
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference (why else would you stay anywhere but SoCo in Austin?). The grounds are picture perfect and the resort is exquisite. And you'll pay for it if you stay here. It's too far from anything to make sense of running out for a quick anything. A hamburger was $16, a glass of wine $11 and if you want bar snacks, like peanuts, to go with your wine they are $7. Bottled water in the room is $9. Valet parking is $25 per day and there's always a long wait to get your car. There is a small self park garage if you're willing to walk .25 mile on the golf cart path to get there and back. Not convenient for anyone with luggage.

Personally, I like to spend my money making memories, not paying a fortune for everyday necessities. I won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We apologize to this past guest for an unsatisfactory experience and appreciate the constructive feedback. While much of the guest feedback we receive is overwhelmingly positive, it is our goal to ensure all guest expectations are exceeded; this information will help us do just that moving forward.

I invite this guest to contact me directly at james.walsh@bartoncreek.com for further discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were at Barton Creek for 3 nights the first weekend in June. It was great. It was our 2nd time there but it had probably been 8 years. We had a Scenic Terrace room up on the 9th floor. It was a great view of the Texas hill country. We had two days of a spa package and one day of Bed and Breakfast package. The spa was great. People were great. Had a 80 minute couples massage that was the best I had ever had. For the second day they allowed me to give my spa time to my wife so she was able to upgrade from a 50 to an 80 minute facial. She said it was to die for. Didnt play golf this trip but the courses looked to be in great condition. Everyone at the resort was 100% accomadating. They all acknowledged us as we walked through the resort with a pleasant hello. Service around the oll was good.

If you want to go off resort for Dinner I would recommend two places. Saltlick BBQ can not be beat. The one in Driftwood is out in the Hill country and is a great atmosphere. The other place is Jack Allens Kitchen. Great locally sourced menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities, excellent service by our team members & Three Springs Spa experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hill Country again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We went there for the first time for a quick weekend getaway. The resort is located away from downtown Austin. The views are amazing. They definitely cater to conferences and weddings. Both were taking place while we were there so the hotel was crowded, but amazingly it was quiet in our room. The hotel is showing it's age. The carpet needs to be replaced and the baseboards and doors need to be repainted. The bathroom and bedroom is decorated Texas chic and the room is a good size. I loved the bath products. I'm very picky and don't normally use hotel shampoo, conditioner or lotions, but I loved their bath products. It's from their three springs spa. We had the breakfast package so we got to have the breakfast buffet each morning. I would definitely recommend the buffet. The selection was wonderful and there was also an omelet
station. I have to comment that the staff at the hotel worked very hard. We never saw a worker just standing around. The servers at the pool was constantly working and picking up towels and empty cups. The pool was packed not a single chair empty, but they had plenty of servers to take care of everyone I got a deep tissue massage at the spa. Which was wonderful. My husband played golf and loved it. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3seasonedtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. I have personally passed along your glowing comments to our Director of Operations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights there while attending a conference for work.

The food that was provided during the conference was excellent.

At the check in you felt like you were a bit in a factory, part of the process, I guess with the place being so big it is bound to be like that.

Grounds were nice and there is free parking.

Steam room did not smell good, and there is no hose to clean of the benches before you sit down. As always in the US separate male and female which is a drag if you want to spend time with you better half. Fitness machines are was quite good.

Best part was the food, but this was all at diners as part of the conference, we did not use the restaurant other than at breakfast. Breakfast buffet was good.

Not much near by so unless you want to be there for the golf, which we do not do, you would need a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandM5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback! We're happy you enjoyed our Texas-Style cuisine. I have personally passed your note along to our Director of Catering and our team will be pleased to hear about your experience. We are always looking for new ways to maximize our guest experience, and input from recent guests like yourself proves to be invaluable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The wife and I did a 'staycation' for a night to get away from our kids. We used Barton Creek through a promotion I was involved in. Built in the mid 1980's as a golf destination the main building is well maintained though showing a bit of aging. We stayed in the added tower, which makes getting around seem a bit like a labyrinth, but you'll get your bearings soon enough. The staff was super nice and you will see a lot of people who love golf. We were on the 8th floor and had a beautiful view of the hill country back towards downtown in a big spacy room. The breakfast buffet, although pricey is amazing.

My only negatives were valet parking is $25 a night, so if you self park the lot is down the block. They do have a shuttle. Fiji water is offered in your room for $9 a bottle. But the biggie was no high def in the room. Come on BCR, it's 2013! Oh and if you are from out of town, this is not close to the entertainment districts.

Room Tip: Go for the tower upgrade, the rooms are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Super B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for choosing us as your Austin 'staycation' destination! We're pleased you enjoyed our amenities, especially our Award Winning Four Diamond-rated Hill Country Dining Room. Your feedback is valuable as we continue to improve the Barton Creek Resort & Spa experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Return trip to this property for a 3 night stay. Check in was effortless. We were able to upgrade to 2 adjoining rooms for a reasonable price. Room and grounds were clean. Hotel had a number of appealing options for my young family e.g. free miniature golf, free weekend movies, family activity center, over-sized chess set at pool. Clientele was an interesting mix of a few families with young children, groups of men on golf outings, and affluent appearing older couples. As a result of trying to serve these very different groups of people our family felt out of place and uncomfortable at times. A 21 year and older pool would go a long way toward creating a more welcoming atmosphere for all guests. We may return, but will likely consider other locales first.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank father3KansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Barton Creek! I'm happy you enjoyed our resort amenities and family activities. We are always looking for new ways to maximize our guest experience, and input from recent guests like yourself proves to be invaluable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
9.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 202 in Austin
310 reviews
7.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,966 reviews
11.2 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 202 in Austin
426 reviews
6.9 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 202 in Austin
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing