We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #45 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cute, but needs updating”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I realize most of get any here and someone else is paying, but this hotel needs some updating. As a business traveller I am easy to please - quiet room, comfortable bed, a place to charge my stuff. 2/3 ain't bad I guess. Seriously, I could only find one working outlet to charge my phone/computer/iPad, so I had to switch off. Also, the hot water in the shower took 10 minutes to come on. I realize its early, but really? Otherwise the property looks good and the food is average, but if it were up to me I would stay at a national chain . Now if cuteness is what your after, this might be the place or you...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We apologize to this past guest for an unsatisfactory experience and appreciate the constructive feedback. While much of the guest feedback we receive is overwhelmingly positive, it is our goal to ensure all guest expectations are exceeded; this information will help us do just that moving forward.

I invite this guest to contact me directly at james.walsh@bartoncreek.com for further discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    482
    304
    192
    88
See reviews for
500
505
47
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just flew back from Austin TX. We stayed at the Barton Creek Resort. The resort grounds are very beautiful and we had a great view of the course from our room. The downside was there was little to no hot water in the shower and there was a bit of work taking place on the floor above us, which was rather loud. The customer service was excellent and everyone who works there is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esc4eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your hill country view! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a conference last weekend. While he was busy in meetings, I just sat outside in a rocking chair and relaxed and read a book. It was heavenly! Such beautiful surroundings and so peaceful. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway with a view, this is your place. Even our room was awesome. The service was great, food was great. Not a bad thing to say. Stay here, you won't be sorry. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for your glowing review of your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our veranda and this gorgeous Texas weather we have had recently. Look forward to seeing you again soon.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
207 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently spent a few days at the Barton Creek Resort and Spa. While the overall experience was pleasant, it seems like the resort could use some updates to keep it as a top notch destination. The hallways, elevators and rooms could use a facelift. The health club is outstanding for those who want to maintain their routines while on the road. Played a round of golf on the Canyons Course. It was a good challenge, but make sure you give yourself plenty of time before your tee time as the course is about 2 miles from the resort and they need to shuttle you over to the course.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were able to experience the Canyons golf course and enjoyed our fitness center. We continuously strive to make improvements to the property and have just begun renovations to our suites. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

drove to austin from san antonio for a much needed retreat, and made reservations that morning before i departed. the resort reservation person was unbelievably helpful, and offered me a scenic room in the towers (i would definitely recommend) at a bit of savings. i booked a golf package, and the cost of this excellent room w view and the Fazio golfing was had at significant savings. included was a most excellent breakfast in the restaurant. upon arrival, the valet staff was prompt, courteous, friendly and totally welcoming. i knew at that instant that this was going to be a great experience. same attitude with the reception personnel. this is a resort that really stresses warm personal service, and i don't think this is forced. the people i had contact with seemed to just have receptive, helpful personalities. this is the kind of resort i LOVE visiting, as the total resort experience is important to me. the property itself is probably 25 years old, originally low rise, with an 8-9 story tower added. i stayed in the tower, wanting a view of the environs. room was definitely well appointed, clean neat and tastefully upscale. i had breakfast in the restaurant...excellent. my real purpose was golf, and brother the Fazio courses were the perfect solution for my needs. this was perhaps the best little mini vacation i've had in a while. i will definitely return with my family and with my golfing buddies!

Room Tip: higher tower rooms for best hill country view. unfortunately, the balconies were small, with no fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are thrilled to hear about your positive experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback that I will surely share with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Was on business trip that had event at this resort. I guess if you came to play golf this would be outstanding but it was not for me.
First issue, stayed in house not hotel. It was a nice house but for three folks here on business it was not right environment
Second issue, house not ready till 5 pm. Should it ever really take this long to have a room
Restaurant: Very pricey, not much selection
Good, they were very responsive to my business needs associated with event. If everything else would have been this way it would be a 5

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSandraTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide constructive feedback about your stay with us. I apologize your room was not prepared in a timely manner as our normal protocol is to have all rooms prepared prior to the quoted check in time, especially if an early check in was requested. We value each and every one of our guests and hope to have the opportunity to make a return visit with us right for you.

Please feel free to contact me directly at james.walsh@bartoncreek.com for further discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I used this property for a business meeting that I planned. The conference facilities were fantastic and the hotel itself is very nice. The rooms were spacioius and quite comfortable. Room service was impecable and the food outstanding. The indoor pool was nice though could use a hot tub in that area and not just outside. The gym was great and loved that they had an indoor running track. The staff was delightful as well. Shopping was a bit too pricey. This would be a wonderful location for families to stay as they had many children's activities. They also have a spa but I was not able to utilize.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for sharing such positive feedback with us! Our team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed our meetings and fitness facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 203 in Austin
279 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing