We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service - Overpriced - Confusing Layout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #54 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We attended a 3 day meeting at the hotel. We would have stayed longer and played golf but the room price and golf were not worth the cost. Tried to explore a golf package for my wife and myself but got no help from the reservations agent. Would have stayed a few extra days but lost all interest after making the reservation. The room was large but the furnishings were dated. The food was generally good. The floor plan is convoluted. Everything was a long walk. The hotel's strongest point is its people. Very friendly. This resort may be good for Austin but can't compete with better resorts - more reasonably priced in other parts of the country. I have never experienced a resort that charged as much for a room and then laid on an outrageous fee to play golf. Very poor price - value. Will recommend to our meeting planner to take Barton Creek off our list.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank ASL-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

Barton Creek, and Catering Director Kristin Crawford, are truly amazing to work with for a wedding weekend of activities. We had many out of town guests for a 3 day weekend of golf, spa, cocktail party, wedding, and farewell brunch. Everything was perfect, with great attention to detail such as champagne and hors d'oeuvres waiting for the bridal party immediately after the ceremony. I highly recommend this dedicated team of professionals!

Room Tip: Beautiful suites available for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krich1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Thank you for those glowing remarks regarding hosting a memorable wedding at Barton Creek. Kristin Crawford is a consumate professional and will ensure that every detail is attended to. Our fully air-conditioned 6,000sq foor Resort Pavilon is the perfect place for exchanging wedding vows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Loved my stay at the Barton Creek Resort & Spa. The conference was one of the best I've ever attended. The food was extraordinary for every meal. The Pavillion was a great space for the evening event with a wood fireplace roaring, great music and beautiful breezes and views from the patio. I could not say enough about how gracious and pleasant the servers were. They set the standard for all luxury properties.

Room Tip: Views of the golf course are beautiful. Ask for a room with a balcony for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKMeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for this positive review on the ambiance and service at the Resort Pavilon which makes for a marvellous venue for any private event. The fireplace atmostphere is enhanced with a number of pieces of pinon wood to create that amazing smell everyone loves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I was there in November, and the food at the breakfast buffet was awful and overpriced. The waffles were hard as rocks, the hot food wasn't hot, there was only one type of pastry and it wasn't very good, actually stale, the fruit was tired and the pineapple was sour, the biscuits were not homemade. There was no Texas feel to the food, no Mexican type offerings or salsa. I could have been in any average hotel anywhere. The room had a balcony, but it was so windy, even propping the door open with a chair didn't work, the door kept slamming shut - so much for trying to enjoy the weather. The walking trail was pretty short and not that interesting. The rooms were nice. The actual hotel was large and chopped up and it was a long walk every time I would go from the lobby to the elevators. The lobby seemed dark and depressing, not inviting. It's probably a good place to stay if you are a golfer with money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelwings49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

The resort continues to make sure that the breakfast experience is very enjoyable for all of our guests and is looking forward to an ongoing series of renovations and improvements during the remainder of the year. Appreciate this past guest's follow up from a visit last year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This resort was built in 1985. What was "luxurious" in 1985 is now the equivalent of a Fairfield Inn. The rooms are Texas big, and even though there's new carpeting and a large flat screen TV, there's still a popcorn ceiling, low end plumbing fixtures and absolutely no sound insulation. Hallway conversations and your neighbor's blow dryer sound like they are in your room. The hotel catered food for the Friday night business dinner was very mediocre. Staff are very friendly and efficient. The absolute best part of this property for a non-golfer is the gym. It it huge and incredibly well equipped. There are Pilates reformers, suspension training, free weights, recumbent bikes, Precor ellipticals (plenty) and a large, mirrored, wood floored room for classes.

Room Tip: Free wired Internet, but not free wireless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

The original resort is celebrating its 25th Birthday in September and is looking forward to more exciting renovations this year in more of our meeting rooms in addition to a brand new look for our resort shop. Guestroom renovations are always ongoing in order to address the detailed observations of our guests. The Fitness Center continues to receive rave reviews which is great to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I just got married at Barton Creek Resort and had the best experience! I did not have a wedding planner and was told that would be very difficult. However, Barton Creek's staff went above and beyond what a wedding coordinator would ever do. The staff made sure everything ran smoothly, all the guests were happy, and my husband and I had nothing to worry about. The venue was beautiful and set-up perfectly. I would highly highly recommend Barton Creek Resort for everyone - wedding or just a great weekend away!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

We continue to be very proud of the dedicated and exceptional catering services team we have at Barton Creek. The make the memorable task of wedding planning a terrific and effortless experience. Congratulations to all happy couples who come and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Last month I had the opportunity to travel to Austin Texas for a conference, and I am pleased to say that the Barton Creek Resort and Spa made it a memorable first trip to the great state of Texas! From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were staying in a southern manor house. The wood floors and decor have a warm, comfortable feel to them, and the employees with their "yes ma'am" manners made us feel like we were valued guests. The manor house theme extended to our large guest room, and everything was such charming southern style, it was hard to believe that we were in a hotel and not in someones home! Barton Creek is so proud of their state, and it was great to see that pride in their old photos of Texas that were hung throughout the hotel, the amazing Remington bronze sculptures, and even the lone star carpeting that they had! I would not hesitate to return to this wonderful resort and how they so proudly represent Texas is to be commended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

The resort is very proud of the rich Texas heritage surrounding us and it is always great to see our guests enjoying some of the historical items placed in our midst. Looking forward to many more future improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
9.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 201 in Austin
337 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
6.9 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 201 in Austin
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $249 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing