We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We expected more from the resort, but golf was good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #54 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We liked the Barton Creek Resort but certainly didn't love it. Our standard king room was spacious with excellent bed and bath linens. We loved having a second sink and vanity outside the bathroom. However, the loveseat did not have an ottoman or coffee table so the only comfortable place to sit was the bed.
We liked the Crenshaw Cliffside golf course very much with it's rolling and heavily treed terrain. The greens were treacherous with lots of sloping that made good approach shots roll way to the back of the green. We were extremely aggravated when the starter told that due to the stress of the heat, it would be cart paths only on the back nine. What about the stress on us?
Then there were numerous little things that dissatisfied us: elevator to the dinIng level that let us off in an area that felt like a basement, lacking decor. And an open area along the hall to our room that was totally empty. We didn't find the bar comfortable. And finally, nearly all the staff seemed to be no more than a couple years out of college. They were friendly and did their jobs okay but I'd like to have a mature professional greeting and taking care of me in a high end resort.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank txmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

We appreciated the gracious details that this nice couple provided as it relates to how they would have enjoyed the resort more. We were very pleased to see how they enjoyed the quality of our Crenshaw Course and understand how the temporary golf path only rule was in effect over the past ten days. With the temperatures now lower than we have experienced all summer, these playing conditions are almost back to normal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
There are newer reviews for Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,851 - 1,857 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

We spent three days and nights at Barton Creek in record breaking heat, yet enjoyed three rounds of golf and the resort experience at Barton Creek. The hotel is wonderfully designed and offers great services and resort accommodations. We played three of the four golf courses and had a great time. The Fazio courses were beautiful and well maintained with beautiful scenery and a lot of wildlife . The Fazio Canyons has the Audobon Wildlife certification which is hard to achieve and maintain, but insures that wildlife conservation is practiced. The Crenshaw course was not as well-maintained nor as scenic, but we were there in extreme heat and drought. Since we had other plans for meals, we did not eat at the resort (and the prices were typical of resort prices). We were pleasantly surprised by our first trip to this area. The hill country is beautiful and there are lots of things to do in Austin. We will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view - much better than the parking lot view!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Beautiful hotel and grounds. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Pool is large and very nice. Rooms are great and beds/pillows are comfy.

Only downside is that sometimes it's hard to find a parking space and valet parking is $25. Also, the rooms do not have a refridgerator or microwave.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1969Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Love, Love this course. The rooms were large and comfy. We ate every meal during the 2.5 day event at this resort, and every single one was outstanding. The food tasted great! I did not pay for this event, so not sure about pricing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitkatDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved our stay at this resort, the staff was great, the food was top-notch, and the location was peaceful and relaxing and the kids loved the pool and scavenger hunt. On the down side, they did not have our reservation when we arrived which was frustrating...but, they managed to find us a room.....it just took awhile. The room that we ended up with faced the back drive where the grounds people parked ...... nothing we cared to look at......which was a dissappointment after what we had been told about the views. Also, on our two night stay only the beds were made....never were the towels replaced or the trash removed, or the glasses in the room replaced....which we did not understand since we were out of the room most of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaniC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Barton Creek Resort was the first vacation we took as a family with a 3-month-old and it was the perfect destination! The entire staff was extremely accommodating, plus the property/facility were top-notch. I would definitely recommend this resort to young families and we plan to make this a return trip each year.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is probably my 4th of 5th stay at Barton Creek and I will continue to return though there are more conveniently located hotels in Austin. Staff is extremely friendly in all departments and service always excellent.

Clearly the hotel is not new but is very well maintained. There are a variety of activities all throughout the year and always something going on.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank be32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
9.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 202 in Austin
324 reviews
7.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,990 reviews
6.9 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 202 in Austin
1,205 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $181 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing