We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort in beautiful Austin, Texas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #54 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I recently stayed at the Barton Creek Resort and Spa for a business conference. The hotel is what I would expect for a luxury resort. The staff was friendly, the rooms well equipped, and the activities/dining plentiful. However, everything is going to cost you, so bring the wallet. The hotel is older, but it is charming in that way. Also, the halls are filled with old Texas memorabilia that is quite interesting to view. The setting of the hotel is grand, just in the hills, East of the line between the Texas gulf plains and the Texas hill country. The hotel may have been built in stages, so you have to wind your way around to get to different things such as the spa, dining, shops, and rooms. However, the maps they have around are adequate to let you know where you are and where you are going.
PROS:
Beds good
Rooms large
Decor is great
Staff is friendly
Food at both Hill Country Dining and 8212 is great, especially 8212
Grounds/golf course is beautiful

CONS:
Bottled water: $3-$5 in gift shop and $8.50 in the room (bring some with you)
Housekeeping could have done more of a deep cleaning (especially the bath tub)
Electrical outlets in the rooms are SCARCE (but this is expected for a older resort)

Overall:
Would I stay here again? Yes
Did I get a good nights sleep? Yes
Did I enjoy my stay? Yes

Room Tip: You want a room that is floors 3-5 (better view)
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KyleOnThePlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Many thanks to this past guest for their gracious feedback further to a recent stay. We are looking forward to serving many guests and families over the next couple of months as we enter the height of the summer travel season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
There are newer reviews for Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,873 - 1,879 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here June 23 – June 27. The trip was part business/part pleasure.

The resort is layed out in an awkward fashion which we attributed to expansions through the years. The lobby is tucked away. Elevators were sometimes difficult to find; particularly on the ground floor.

Our room was large and comfortable. The air conditioning worked great (this is important in late June). The water pressure in the shower wasn’t as powerful as we would’ve liked but we attributed this to the draught in TX. There is a charge for internet service that is sketchy at best. We frequently lost our connection.

We visited both restaurants, the lounge and had several meals in a large group setting. Food and service were fine. There were a surprising number of families with small children.

We played 3 rounds of golf between us. The courses were in superb condition. I visited the spa and my facial was great.

We visited the pool on two different days (Friday and Sunday). We had no problem getting lounge chairs with umbrellas and towels. However, the pool area is small. One of my favorite activities is reading at the pool while on vacation. This is not possible at Barton Creek. Music is loud; even at 10am on Sunday morning! At this time there were 4 women at the pool. Two of us were trying to read and two were on their phones. Songs were changed mid-song as if the music was for the employees rather than for their guests. I understand raising the volume as the crowd grows and the day draws on. Again, there were a surprising number of families with small children. At one point there were 2 dozen kids in the pool.

All in all, we would recommend Barton Creek for families.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PittsburghMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

The resort thanks our past guests for their "family friendly" vote of confidence further to their recent visit. We very much enjoy seeing many families during the summer season given the exciting series of Summer Family Packages and Kids Camps offered along with the Miniature Golf Course, Nature Trail and other resort amenities. We always take note on all the feedback we receive from our guests as it assists us to improve experiences going forward. Looking forward to seeing you all this Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I was very disappointed that when we arrived at 3:30pm our room was not available. The desk staff were very professional and courteous and apologized extensively for the delay. The gentleman stated our room would be ready in about 30 minutes and that he would call our cell phone when it was ready. We returned to the front desk about 3 hrs later and were frustrated that we had not received a call about our room. The staff again apologized that our room was not ready. In total, we waited more than 3 hrs before reaching our room. This delay caused us to miss an entire afternoon on the resort. If it weren't for this experience tainting our opinion of the resort, I would have said that we would be returning very soon. Otherwise, it's a lovely property, food is delicious and amenities are great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huang613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

The resort once again apologizes for not ensuring that this gracious past guest was called as soon as their accommadations were ready for them. We do realize that everyone always likes to get settled in as soon as they arrive in order to maximize their resort experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

When i checked out the team was really interested in providing me info about a question regarding directions to the airport. He went the extra steps to provide a map and draw the route on it. In fact, we found other staff members at Barton Creek to really care about our needs and wanted to make sure we had an excellent stay.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

We thank this guest for taking the time to write regarding the extra steps that our wonderful associates take to ensure the comfort and convenience of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here from June 16th-June18th with 2 girlfriends for a girls' spa weekend. If I were to be asked if I'd recommend staying here to a friend I would say "yes, BUT...". And here's why - this place is pretty big and either some of the rooms are new, or just some have been recently updated, our room was an older not-updated room. The furniture was pretty worn and beat up, the tub floor was stained from years of use, and everything just looked dated. Overall the room was fairly clean. I had no problems sleeping in the bed, but our windows were smeared with grease or something pretty gross - this was obviously overlooked by housekeeping. Also, the AC vent is up high near the ceiling and dust had collected on the ceiling right in front of the vents - also gross, and could easily be cleaned. For the amount of money we were spending on the room, we expected much better - I've stayed in much cheaper hotels and had a nicer room than here at Barton Creek.

Other than that, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We each had a couple spa treatments and thought they were all wonderful (if you get a massage ask for Wendy, she's the best!).

We had the breakfast buffet each morning and that was very good. We had food and drinks in the Lounge and that was good too.

There were a couple of incidents of miscommunication among the staff, but mostly it isn't anything to really complain about.

We were really looking forward to a couple of nice relaxing days at a fancy resort, but overall I'd say they really missed the mark. I wouldn't stay here again, and I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to someone, but if asked about my stay I'd be sure they knew the good with the bad.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qtbinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

The resort appreciated hearing from this past guest on their overall experience with us. Wendy is one of the best spa treatment team members that we have at Three Springs Spa. The majority of our guests also love the daily buffet in the Hill Country Dining Room. Our Engineering Team has corrected the condensation issue that had occurred in this particular guestroom and Housekeeping hastended to the additional details mentioned. We appreciated hearing these details very much and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our stay had to be cut short but our time there was most wonderful. The room were lovely, cleean and comfortable, the view was amazing, the grounds were well kept with attractive landscaping...the reception we attended was well served and delicious and the one meal we had which was breakfast was so nice....our waiter, Carlos, was extremely efficient and welcoming...all staff shared a smile and seemed by be glad to be a part of such a great facility.

Room Tip: Plan early...higher rooms, better view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apri1147l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

The resort thanks this past guest for their gracious feedback after a recent stay with us. In particular, we appreciated seeing the positive feedback regarding Carlos in the Hill Country Dining Room, who has worked for us since 1989. As we celebrate the resort's 25th Anniversary next year, we are very fortunate to have so many tenured employees taking care of our guests on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Was disappointed when we got there. Should have seen the red flag when arrived at registration. Everyone in front of us had their reservation messed up. Our room was a converted meeting room with a murphy bed in it (they didn't even bother to remove the door sign from the room). Floor behind the murphy bed was nasty with trash. Also would be wise to leave someone in the room at all times. Housekeeping should not be trusted - went thru our stuff and took some things. Safe deposit box in closet won't hold everything - small. Also resort will nickel and dime you to death. There is a charge for everything!!! Also if you are expecting Wi-Fi - beware it will cost you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glenrose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

The resort is concerned to read this review as it relates to the level of housekeeping and overall quality of accommadations offered. We will also have to reach out to these past guests as it relates to the feedback on housekeeping as it is most unusual to hear these details. Complimentary internet is available in the business center for our guests use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
9.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 202 in Austin
324 reviews
7.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,990 reviews
6.9 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 202 in Austin
1,205 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $181 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing