We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caring Team” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #48 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Penn Laird, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Caring Team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

When i checked out the team was really interested in providing me info about a question regarding directions to the airport. He went the extra steps to provide a map and draw the route on it. In fact, we found other staff members at Barton Creek to really care about our needs and wanted to make sure we had an excellent stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
We thank this guest for taking the time to write regarding the extra steps that our wonderful associates take to ensure the comfort and convenience of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    458
    273
    181
    82
See reviews for
455
470
46
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here from June 16th-June18th with 2 girlfriends for a girls' spa weekend. If I were to be asked if I'd recommend staying here to a friend I would say "yes, BUT...". And here's why - this place is pretty big and either some of the rooms are new, or just some have been recently updated, our room was an older not-updated room. The furniture was pretty worn and beat up, the tub floor was stained from years of use, and everything just looked dated. Overall the room was fairly clean. I had no problems sleeping in the bed, but our windows were smeared with grease or something pretty gross - this was obviously overlooked by housekeeping. Also, the AC vent is up high near the ceiling and dust had collected on the ceiling right in front of the vents - also gross, and could easily be cleaned. For the amount of money we were spending on the room, we expected much better - I've stayed in much cheaper hotels and had a nicer room than here at Barton Creek.

Other than that, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We each had a couple spa treatments and thought they were all wonderful (if you get a massage ask for Wendy, she's the best!).

We had the breakfast buffet each morning and that was very good. We had food and drinks in the Lounge and that was good too.

There were a couple of incidents of miscommunication among the staff, but mostly it isn't anything to really complain about.

We were really looking forward to a couple of nice relaxing days at a fancy resort, but overall I'd say they really missed the mark. I wouldn't stay here again, and I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to someone, but if asked about my stay I'd be sure they knew the good with the bad.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qtbinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
The resort appreciated hearing from this past guest on their overall experience with us. Wendy is one of the best spa treatment team members that we have at Three Springs Spa. The majority of our guests also love the daily buffet in the Hill Country Dining Room. Our Engineering Team has corrected the condensation issue that had occurred in this particular guestroom and Housekeeping hastended to the additional details mentioned. We appreciated hearing these details very much and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our stay had to be cut short but our time there was most wonderful. The room were lovely, cleean and comfortable, the view was amazing, the grounds were well kept with attractive landscaping...the reception we attended was well served and delicious and the one meal we had which was breakfast was so nice....our waiter, Carlos, was extremely efficient and welcoming...all staff shared a smile and seemed by be glad to be a part of such a great facility.

Room Tip: Plan early...higher rooms, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apri1147l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
The resort thanks this past guest for their gracious feedback after a recent stay with us. In particular, we appreciated seeing the positive feedback regarding Carlos in the Hill Country Dining Room, who has worked for us since 1989. As we celebrate the resort's 25th Anniversary next year, we are very fortunate to have so many tenured employees taking care of our guests on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Was disappointed when we got there. Should have seen the red flag when arrived at registration. Everyone in front of us had their reservation messed up. Our room was a converted meeting room with a murphy bed in it (they didn't even bother to remove the door sign from the room). Floor behind the murphy bed was nasty with trash. Also would be wise to leave someone in the room at all times. Housekeeping should not be trusted - went thru our stuff and took some things. Safe deposit box in closet won't hold everything - small. Also resort will nickel and dime you to death. There is a charge for everything!!! Also if you are expecting Wi-Fi - beware it will cost you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenrose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
The resort is concerned to read this review as it relates to the level of housekeeping and overall quality of accommadations offered. We will also have to reach out to these past guests as it relates to the feedback on housekeeping as it is most unusual to hear these details. Complimentary internet is available in the business center for our guests use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

The last day of a really great conference I went down to the pool to relax and swim and within minutes was NAILED in the head by a football thrown by rowdy college kids. Imagine spring break. I had a headache for the rest of my night. What they don't mention is the resort is also a country club for the ill mannered wealthy spoiled surrounding families.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhorigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Delighted to read the positive feedback on this past guest's meeting experience with us. We were also aware of this isolated incident with the foam football that occurred at the resort pool and are again very sorry that this occurred. Continued care is being taken on the part of our associates to ensure that our younger guests are considerate and safe around others. Given how the situation was handled, by our team, at the time, we are disappointed to read this feedback. The last phrase in this reviewer's above feedback is also very subjective in nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very very nice resort. Immaculatgely kept, wonderful golf courses, spa and close to just about everything. Hotel was much older than I had thought, but was still one of the nicest I've stayed at in a long time. Not much to do other than swim or play putt putt for kids. It's much more suited for adults.

Room Tip: View over the golf course is by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsebald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were at Barton Creek over Memorial Weekend. The room was large and completely updated. We had a weekend special that included two rounds of golf, two spa treatments, and buffet breakfast every morning. Pool area was crowded with families, so not necessarily peaceful, but that is somewhat expected during a holiday weekend. Food in the grill was good; breakfast was adequate. Relaxing porches with big rockers. Spa treatments were great, but the waiting area wasn't very relaxing--very busy and noisy. Found out later there is a meditation room but was never shown where. A/C in room was a bit "off". Couldn't find right temp. And pillows are FLAT; could use new ones.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzfan647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 197 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing