We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Eatery”

Jack Allen's Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 3,737 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique Eatery”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great farm-to-table eatery with unique seasonal fare! We had the French-fried pork chops and lamb meatloaf. We shared an apple caramel cobbler for dessert. It seemed to be a trendy and fun spot and we enjoyed it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank heart2heartbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    191
    35
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Chorizo stuffed pork was INCREDIBLE!!! It was so filling but I wanted to keep eating! My mom got a turkey burger that was equally amazing! You have to eat here. I wished I lived closer, cause I would be here once a week!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Finger Lickin AWESOME”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

It is hard to find a reason NOT to go to Jack Allen's. Their drinks are good and strong, the food is homestyle with a flare of the fancy and the staff has always been pleasant and helpful.
My personal favorite is the all you can stomach brunch on the weekends. I find myself overwhelmed with all the delicious choices. Don't miss the scrambled eggs with tamale chunks... ummmm chunks!
If you want well made, local food and a reasonable price go to Jack Allen's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Never Fails to Impress”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

No matter what I order from this restaurant I feel I consistently get fresh, delicious and well prepared food. Their menu items are unique, today I had the ruby red trout. I don't care for rice
So I asked to substitute mashed potatoes. No problem, they didn't even hesitate and those were about the best mashed potatoes I ever had. Two pet peeves I have about restaurants is having music so loud its painful to try and talk to someone at your table and the air not turned down to a comfortable level in Texas in August. This place is always nice and cool which is a welcome relief
When its sweltering outside and the music is in the background, not so loud you can hear your dinner guests talk.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TREVI36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Getaway ”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came here for lunch before heading back home. We tried the Killer Cheese Burger and the 5 Cheese macaroni with chicken....I have to say they were awesome. Great environment.....

Helpful?
Thank JAIR E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jack Allen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing