We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY HANDS DOWN FAVORITE RESTAURANT EVER!”

Jack Allen's Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 3,737 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“MY HANDS DOWN FAVORITE RESTAURANT EVER!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This place is amazing.. like AMAZING! Everything I have ever eaten here has been exceptional, way better than it even sounded on their menu.. which is just dish after dish of awesome-sounding options. I had the pork tenderloin medallions the first time I ever went here, and it remains my favorite item on the menu. Their cocktails are great too, as are the prices, you just can't beat Jack Allen's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missdebbie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    191
    35
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Upscale but tasty.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our business partners hosted our dinner at Jack Allen's and it was a treat. Reservations were essential. Inside was trendy and you knew you were in a better than average place. I felt our waiter had a bit of an attitude at first, like he wanted us to know we were in an upscale place. That improved after awhile, maybe after we had a few drinks. The Mexican martini was served with flair - it was average. I had their salad with chicken and it was outstanding. Others had the fish tacos which are apparently one of their signature dishes and one person had a big ole steak! So there is something for everyone. Everyone enjoyed their meal and we shared several luscious desserts - they were great about giving us our own plate and cutlery so we could share appropriately.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 84Hokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Re-invention of Authentic Texas”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Surprised by the reasonable prices for great food. We were in the mood for beef with one of us having Chicken Fried New York Strip and the other having Chicken Fried Beef Ribs. We don't usually get chicken fried anything the both of these came with a green chili white gravy and mashed potatoes and it just sounded good. They were great. Tender meat and light and crispy on the outside. The gravy is not spicy but very flavorful. This is a casual setting but they serve locally sourced food cooked to order.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyboyCaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, just past the "Y" at Oak Hill on Hwy 71”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This location had several previous incarnations as various restaurants, so we wondered how it would do, but to say that Jack Allen's/Oak Hill is popular: would be a great understatement! It's a very busy place, super popular so time your visit accordingly, but the food is terrific and the waitstaff is attentive.....Like so many Austin restaurants, it's all chrome, cement and glass, so do expect a high level of noise if it is at a busy time. They do try to be accommodating, but if you are expecting an intimate dinner with lots of conversation on a Friday evening: you will be disappointed. A good wine list w/ith some great choices 'by the glass', and the 'Happy Hour Appetizer' menu is a fabulous deal, as it is rare that an entree is needed after a selection of appetizers ordered at 1/2 price. Fun, lively atmosphere with good food and hugely popular out in Southwest Austin....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“what a great, down-to-earth restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The outside of the restaurant does not at all represent the interior. The outside is drab and very out-dated. The inside, however, is beautifully decorated. Others have described a Jetson's type décor. I would not characterize it as such. There are some architectural elements on the ceiling and throughout that might lend themselves to that description. There was ample space between tables, and the booths were very comfortable.
Our waitress was very friendly and helpful with food choices. All of the appetizers sounded delicious. We split the chili fries and the guacamole. December is not known for the best tasting avocados, but these were delicious. The guacamole was brought out in a deep bowl, on a tray filled with tostada chips. The chili fries were a mountain of fries with a yummy aioli dipping sauce. The portions of both appetizers were too much for just 2 people. By the way, all diners are served a small portion of the signature pimento cheese. It is very good, not the kind you get at the grocery store. It is complimentary, and can be ordered in a larger portion as an appetizer. I had the fish tacos which were very fresh, and my husband had the trout. He usually "forces" himself to eat fish, but he loved this and would eat it every day if available at home! I can hardly wait to return to try more of the items offered.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank monica_k840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Allen's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jack Allen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing