We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky and Fun!”
Review of Gueros Taco Bar

Gueros Taco Bar
Ranked #192 of 3,700 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
memphis
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Funky and Fun!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I love this place! The food is very good and the atmosphere is very cool! Sometimes, there is a bit of a wait because it is a popular place among the Austin residents. If you like good Mexican food, good service and reasonable prices in a relaxed and fun environment, this is your place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    58
    29
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bargersville, Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant is good but the patio is better”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Guero's courtyard offers outdoor bench seating, a band shell and dance floor, full bar, and tacos and tamales served up at their outdoor grill. Fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indywriter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Mexican Place in Austin”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Every time I visit Austin I always have to make a stop at Gueros for their tacos and margaritas. The food and drinks are always delicious and the wait staff is always really friendly and helpful as well. I most recently went there for a bachelorette party and they were kind enough to get us a huge table on a busy Friday night and made our night entertaining. The service was perfect and our waitress was even a great photographer for us that evening too! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves good Mexican food... Just remember weekends get crowded so there may be a wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is in the chic, hippy, hipster part of South Congress. I ate at Gueros back when it was on Oltorf. Decent chilaquiles for breakfast. My wife thought the breakfast tacos were pretty pedestrian. The coffee was weak, but the ambience is what you come here for right?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cardhuneat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favorite Tex-Mex Restuarant in Austin, TX.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! It's in a historical building in a great shopping area of town just south of the Capital. I sat at the taco bar this time watching them make the fresh flour tortillas.
They have a great variety of salsas, wonderful Queso, and these small tacos Al Pastor with pineapple salsa that were superb. Along with a variety of margaritas, you can sit on the street and people watch or have your choice of inside and cooler seating. Every time I come to Austin, this is The Place for me!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamalpaisgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gueros Taco Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gueros Taco Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing