We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Ranked #34 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always a great place”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

i go to Austin several times a quarter for business & always stay here. It is a wonderful hotel with a great staff and excellent location. Beds are great - rooms spacious - restaurant excellent. Glad we have this option as a place to stay for business. Nice to be able to get over to the Domain for a quick diversion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriB1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    304
    68
    19
    18
See reviews for
170
182
40
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I just stayed at the Westin Austin and had a wonderful time. From check-in to check-out the staff was amazing. The rooms and all the facilities were immaculate. Here's a little overview:

The lobby has an open plan with the check-in desk surrounded by a lot of comfy seating areas, a bar and access to Urban, their restaurant. This made it a perfect place to meet people. You can order food from Urban to the bar while you're having cocktails. We sat at the bar and talked with the bartenders for a bit. They're very familiar with the menu at Urban and made great recommendations...we ended up ordering some food to the bar!

Urban is a great restaurant. We were there for a couple days and ate there 3 times. One morning, we arrived after they stopped serving breakfast but they still allowed us breakfast....it was awesome! I especially love the way their kitchen is setup. You can see the cooks preparing your food, and they're all really nice...greeting customers as they walk in and out. A nice touch that you don't typically see at a hotel restaurant :)

The rooms were very nice and clean and the bed was really comfortable (makes it easier to be away from home). One thing that I especially liked is that they have a "Green Stay" program, but they actually reward you with it by giving you a $5 credit at the hotel!! This is really the way it should be at all hotels! Wifi works great throughout the building and I didn't have any issues with coverage.

The hotel is right in The Domain, a huge outdoor mall, however, it's not too close so you're not bothered by the people visiting the domain. The hotel even has a golf cart that will take you anywhere in the domain and you can call them to pick you up as well! This is such a cool amenity because it makes it easy to get to the stores and back without having to walk (especially nice during those hot summer days).

Overall, this is definitely where I'll come back to stay every time I visit Austin. It's a great place for business travelers and families alike. They represent the Westin flag very well!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVargas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The entire experience was one of the best I have ever had at a Westin. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and accommodated every request. They also provide a great service of a golf cart shuttle to anywhere in the Domain shopping center. We ate at Urban, the restaurant in the lobby 3 times in 2 days! Great food!
Thanks to everyone on the property for making my stay great, will definitely stay there every time I'm in Austin.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MattAllard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I stayed here for 6 nights on a recent business trip which would normally be enough to put my off most hotels for life. However, in the case of the Westin, the best thing I can say is that I will return on my next visit to Austin.

While other reviews have commented about smells, I stayed on the 5th floor and did not have any issue with dampness or smells. Overall, I found the hotel to be a good business type hotel in a location which is full of shops and restaurants. The rooms were a reasonable size, the internet worked well, the beds were incredibly comfortable and the air conditioning worked well and was very quiet. Some of the previous comments about water leaking from the shower and the lack of toiletries are spot on, but for me these were not major issues. I also found the breakfast buffet was very boring after a day or two, but this would not stop me staying here again.

The one note of caution is that this hotel is located some distance from downtown Austin - at least a 15 minute drive in off peak times. Again, this was not an issue for me, but if you want to be in downtown Austin, I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat28B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My family stayed at the Westin for a conference. This is our second stay at this hotel. Pros - The hotel is pretty, the staff very courteous, shopping is very convenient, the pool is nice, the rooms are quiet, and the beds are extremely comfortable. Cons - The in-room refrigerators are not refrigerators, just coolers. There are no bathtubs, only showers, and the shower design, though very pretty, leaks a huge puddle of water onto the bathroom floor. (We experience the same problem in a different room last time we stayed.) The worst problem, this stay, was that our entire floor (8th) smelled terrible - like urine. The smell permeated the air in the hallway and the room. My daughter, stepping off the elevator, said, "It smells like a pet shop!" In spite of all the pros of this hotel, the smell made me feel that I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cachaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Nice hotel, except in the execution. The Domain is a good place to eat and shop. Isolated from the rest of Austin, though, and not at all typical of a fun, quirky town. Back to the hotel. Our room was damp. Really damp, and smelled of mildew. Even the carpet was damp. Not a good sign for a six month old hotel. Perhaps our experience was unusual. Seems very odd for a brand new hotel to be having this kind of problem on its "preferred guest floor". The staff was nice, and efficient. The restaurant and bar scene were completely dead. But, it is a business hotel and this was Friday night. There are things going on at the Domain shops and restaurants right down the street.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The hotel is stylish, the rooms are standard Westin size. The pool is nice but has a view of electrical towers. The hotel is close to lots of shopping and dining. It is about 20 min away from downtown Austin but close to where we were going. Service was usually good but we had a few waits for some requests. Overall a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
371 reviews
Renaissance Austin Hotel
#49 of 203 in Austin
837 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
aloft Austin at the Domain
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 203 in Austin
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Property: The Westin Austin at The Domain
Address: 11301 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-7796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Austin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#19 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing