We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Be Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Ranked #30 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Will Be Back”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I stayed here for 6 nights on a recent business trip which would normally be enough to put my off most hotels for life. However, in the case of the Westin, the best thing I can say is that I will return on my next visit to Austin.

While other reviews have commented about smells, I stayed on the 5th floor and did not have any issue with dampness or smells. Overall, I found the hotel to be a good business type hotel in a location which is full of shops and restaurants. The rooms were a reasonable size, the internet worked well, the beds were incredibly comfortable and the air conditioning worked well and was very quiet. Some of the previous comments about water leaking from the shower and the lack of toiletries are spot on, but for me these were not major issues. I also found the breakfast buffet was very boring after a day or two, but this would not stop me staying here again.

The one note of caution is that this hotel is located some distance from downtown Austin - at least a 15 minute drive in off peak times. Again, this was not an issue for me, but if you want to be in downtown Austin, I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat28B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    295
    65
    18
    16
See reviews for
167
177
40
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My family stayed at the Westin for a conference. This is our second stay at this hotel. Pros - The hotel is pretty, the staff very courteous, shopping is very convenient, the pool is nice, the rooms are quiet, and the beds are extremely comfortable. Cons - The in-room refrigerators are not refrigerators, just coolers. There are no bathtubs, only showers, and the shower design, though very pretty, leaks a huge puddle of water onto the bathroom floor. (We experience the same problem in a different room last time we stayed.) The worst problem, this stay, was that our entire floor (8th) smelled terrible - like urine. The smell permeated the air in the hallway and the room. My daughter, stepping off the elevator, said, "It smells like a pet shop!" In spite of all the pros of this hotel, the smell made me feel that I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cachaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Nice hotel, except in the execution. The Domain is a good place to eat and shop. Isolated from the rest of Austin, though, and not at all typical of a fun, quirky town. Back to the hotel. Our room was damp. Really damp, and smelled of mildew. Even the carpet was damp. Not a good sign for a six month old hotel. Perhaps our experience was unusual. Seems very odd for a brand new hotel to be having this kind of problem on its "preferred guest floor". The staff was nice, and efficient. The restaurant and bar scene were completely dead. But, it is a business hotel and this was Friday night. There are things going on at the Domain shops and restaurants right down the street.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The hotel is stylish, the rooms are standard Westin size. The pool is nice but has a view of electrical towers. The hotel is close to lots of shopping and dining. It is about 20 min away from downtown Austin but close to where we were going. Service was usually good but we had a few waits for some requests. Overall a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

If you're like me and travel a lot, I have to tell you these guys have the hotel room comfort down to the science.
The bed, pillows, duvet, mattress are truly heavenly..over and above comfortable.
The towels are plush, new, super white and soft.
Shower/bathroom is super clean and inviting along with great smelling toiletteries. There is only the basics (shampoo, conditioner, body gel and soap). Would appreciate a shower cap, mouthwash and some q-tips..almost expected them but oh well..
Coffee, tea are tazo and starbucks...nice coffee!
The room was quite although it faced the pool and parking and was only on the 4th floor.
The hotel is very new and clean. There is plenty of staff around.
We asked for late check out at reservation and we got it which was very nice.
The breakfast is nice not amazing but nice.
The location couldn't be better if you have to be in north austin and would like to spend sometime shopping or walking at domain.
If for some reason my path crosses Austin again, this hotel would be on top of the list.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AryanaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Love the Domain...this hotel is a great addition. Would be great if the 24 hour room service menu was expanded...the ONLY vegetarian option was oatmeal, and no one knew where to find it?! Rooms were great, bed was comfy and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlissGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We loved this hotel. We traveled with my 9 yr old daughter and her mini-dachshund. The decor is fresh, upbeat, very modern and sleek. The rooms were spacious, the bathroom was good size, the pool and jacuzzi were fantastic and the staff was simply wonderful. They actually give you a dog bed! This is a new hotel so everything was in perfect condition. No funky smells anywhere. Full bathrooms with shower near the pool and workout room. Fresh, fluffy towels are always available. Austin is a wonderful place, the people are friendly, feels very California-ish. We came up from Houston for Memorial Day Weekend and right around the corner was a wine and music festival which the hotel was giving rides to and from in a plush golf cart. We are not from Texas and loved it here, felt like you weren't in Texas any more, which was a huge plus for us. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, lots of fresh fruit and other choices like smoked salmon, eggs, prosciutto, pastries, breads, bacon, etc. We will absolutely come here again, unless we move here :-)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirgoGirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 199 in Austin
288 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 199 in Austin
1,165 reviews
Renaissance Austin Hotel
#52 of 199 in Austin
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
aloft Austin at the Domain
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 199 in Austin
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Property: The Westin Austin at The Domain
Address: 11301 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-7796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Austin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#19 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing