We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Ranked #37 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I always try and stay here when I'm in Austin for business, this is one of my favourite Westins. The whole hotel has a really fresh modern feel and nothing compares to that Westin smell.
I can't say enough nice things about the morning bar girl, she is always really friendly no matter how rushed she is and my coffee is always perfect, however all of the staff go out of their way to be helpful.
They have a golf cart and will drive you to and from restaurants in the Domain area, and the bar on an evening is always busy with a nice friendly vibe.
They have the usual super comfy beds and awesome showers that you expect in a Westin.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Canada_gal_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    315
    75
    24
    21
See reviews for
181
194
43
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Westin at the Domain. Everything was perfectly smooth - and that's a tribute to the Front Office Manager, Sean Haughey, and his staff. The attitudes of the people that work there are by far the best I've experienced in a hotel experience. They go above and beyond consistently to ensure that you have the best overall stay. Kudos to ownership for employing Sean and his staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I love Austin and have previously stayed at many hotels, including this one. This hotel is not in the CBD, but outside downtown. The hotel is right near Austin's newest mall, the Domain. There are many palces to shop and eat around this hotel, and it is clearly an epicenter of all the growth going on in Austin. If you are in Austin, I have one word for you CONSTRUCTION. It is going on everywhere, which make sense since Austin is the fastest growing city in the U.S. However, I dont expect Construction to wake me up at 6am. On one side of the hotel, there is a massive construction project and the cement trucks came rolling in at 6am. So if you are at this hotel, request a room facing the front of the hotel, at least right now.

A couple of other comments about this hotel. First, they dont really recognize you as a SPG Platinum. Since they have no conceirge lounge, they are supposed to provide breakfast coupons. They did not. I asked and got a coffee and danish coupon. When I mentioned the Construction, it appears I must have been the first person. I would have expected an "I am sorry" or "We should have let you know", or even "Since you are Platinum we will put you on the quiet side", but they did not seem to care. Please note that there is nothing indicating these "Special Conditions" on their website. Given this treatment, my next stay in Austin will be back downtown at the W or Four Seasons, where hotel staff seem to care more.

Room Tip: Sleep quaility is poor due to construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Gu P, let me apologize for what appears to be a lack of recognizing your loyalty and status with Starwood. We appreciate your business and I am sorry we didn't let you know that. I also apologize that we didn't show any empathy to you for being disturbed by outside noise. I undersatand how annoying it can be when disturbed by unexpected influences.
I will share your experience with my team in an effort to continually improve our ability to exceed the expectations of our guests.
Sincerely,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely new, bright and charming shopping area of Austin called The Domain. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is very expensive for what it is - small rooms with no bath tub or extractor fan in the bathroom, if you have a standard room. The public areas are especially attractive but the rooms are nothing special.

We initially had a problem with the water pressure and were told this was a result of a construction problem from work going on nearby. We were moved to another room and compensated generously for the inconvenience.

The hotel seems to have a parking problem, at least in the early evenings on the weekend.

From the research I did on Austin hotels, I still felt this was the best choice largely because The Domain area generally is so pleasant. Only a 15 minute drive or so to downtown Austin.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be wi-fi that reaches to the 7th floor but it was great on Floor 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyfulWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
936 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Ultimately I got into the hotel late and left very early so didn't get the opportunity to take full advantage of all the hotel facilities, but the check in process was easy, the rooms clean and the staff very friendly. I will use this as my base hotel from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiddenCaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Terrific experience overall. Very comfortable rooms with nice TVs. Staff were great. Solid room service options. Restaurant is also good quality if you don't want to drive. That leads me to the one drawback of the place - location. Although the Domain has lots of shopping, it's no replacement for being in the action of downtown Austin or the surrounding areas.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is probably a good hotel for a small conference if you can afford to shuttle folks downtown. Otherwise it's better for a weekend shopping trip for the girls and a nice spa treatment. Not elegant, but for the price a very good value. Good staff, but don't expect the red carpet treatment. Bottom line: good value

Room Tip: Rooms in the 420s, 520s, etc seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 202 in Austin
422 reviews
Renaissance Austin Hotel
#62 of 202 in Austin
861 reviews
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 202 in Austin
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Austin
#17 of 202 in Austin
1,195 reviews
Northwest Austin
aloft Austin at the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Property: The Westin Austin at The Domain
Address: 11301 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-7796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Austin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#19 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing