We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to shopping and restaurants, but the service could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Ranked #36 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easy access to shopping and restaurants, but the service could be better.”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at The Westin for business. It is a beautiful hotel located as part of "The Domain" area. This is convenient as there are restaurants and shopping in walking distance. In addition, they have a golf cart type vehicle that can take you if you do not want to walk. The room was comfortable, although the way the sheets were prepared they were not long enough to come to the top of the bed. This seems a small point but when you move down your feet are off, and when you move up, the sheets are not all the way to the top.
I loved the Concierge Aimee, and the Bartender Chris. Aimee worked diligently to find restaurants and nightlife to fit our requests. Chris at the bar was great. He also gave advice about restaurants that were vegetarian.
The one big issue that I had was with the front desk. When we checked in, the girl was rude and not friendly at all. This same girl ( I never got her name) also denied us a late check out as we would be in a meeting until a bit after 12:00 PM. I requested to speak with the GM: Keith, but the manager on duty Chris Griffith spoke to me instead. I explained my concern about the rude staff member, and also told him about the excellent staff members. I also informed him that although we were on the top floor there was loud walking sounds above our room. He explained that they might be working on the AC system.
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and I expected a free night if we would give them another try, but I was offered 2000 points on my Westin Preferred account instead.
I would stay here again and give them another chance, but for a Westin it could have been a better stay. I have experienced those stays at other hotels.

Room Tip: Top floor away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houstontogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    304
    68
    19
    18
See reviews for
170
182
40
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My family recently stayed at the Westin Austin at The Domain. I have also stayed at this hotel for business travel. The rooms were exactly as promised (connecting rooms for a family), and were pristine and comfortable. This is a beautifully decorated/designed hotel with a great location for shopping, dining and other entertainment within short walking distance (all in a very nice area). The staff was courteous, genuinely caring and professional. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the pool area is spacious with comfortable lounge furniture and cocktail/drink service if you wish. Overall a very pleasant, perfect stay with great hospitality. We will return for our future Austin visits, as this hotel does everything right (room, food, service, parking, location). All top notch.

Room Tip: The Pool is Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoSaints2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I brought a friend of mine from the UK to Austin for the weekend hoping for a good location to shop, dine and see the Hill Country. While I found the staff friendly and efficient, and the hotel is clean, the pool and the hotel directly face nothing attractive- in fact the view is of a large power station. The pics on the website are misleading about this, so just be clear that one would mostly stay here for business or access to the Domain shopping, but no view of the city or Hill Country.

Room Tip: Higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We are even planning on making another trip and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request the front view of the Westin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melmora98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

As a Texan, I've visited Austin since I was young, and have stayed in several hotels during that time. The Westin at The Domain has thus far surpassed them all. In the past six months, I've had the pleasure of staying at the Westin three times, twice for business, and once for leisure. In all cases, the Westin has lived up to my expectations. The staff is exceptionally friendly and personable. Never once did a staff member fail to provide advice on places to eat, shop, or see the city. The rooms are among the best I've ever stayed in, with touches that one wouldn't expect. For example, when I travel, I sometimes bring along my XBox. The Westin at The Domain has a multimedia port panel in the desk, allowing me to connect the gaming system into the HDTV ports without getting into the back of the television. The beds are extremely comfortable as well, ensuring that I've always had a good night's sleep. Finally, the best part is the location. The Domain area of Austin is really thriving, with shops, restaurants, and a movie theater within easy walking distance to the hotel. Or, if you don't want to walk, the hotel even offers a golf cart shuttle service to guests. I can guarantee that whenever I visit Austin, I will definitely make the Westin my home away from home.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Starwood Preferred Guest program!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReggieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I have stayed at the Westin at the Domain several times. The staff always makes the stay very enjoyable. I've never had a request they did not make sure they took care of. The value/price for the upscale environment is remarkable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lssmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This location is perfect with easy access to shops and eateries! The hotel staff lives up to the Westin name of true professionals.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunna1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
372 reviews
Renaissance Austin Hotel
#49 of 203 in Austin
837 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
aloft Austin at the Domain
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 203 in Austin
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Property: The Westin Austin at The Domain
Address: 11301 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-7796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Austin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#19 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing