We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but not very close to the local action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Ranked #39 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. But unless you are hear for meetings or your goal is to shop the big stores, it isn't very fun and you are about 8 miles from downtown Austin. Next time I want to stay closer in the center of town where all the fun is. It is also a little confusing to fine. Their address won't show up on the GPS so use their Braker Lane address so you can find it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed here because the hotel was my conference hotel. It was excellent for that and there were so many good things about this hotel that the only complaint I might have is the price, which I thought was extremely high. If not for the price I would rate this hotel as excellent.

The lobby is unusual, comfortable and beautiful. There was a Ferari Club meeting and show here during our stay and this seemed to be a fitting location.

The rooms were clean, well appointed but fairly standard for an upscale hotel. What I liked most was that they reflected the amount of guest comfort that had been taken into consideration in planning the rooms. The beds were extremely comfortable, headboards had built-in reading lights, there was a comfortable chair with a good lamp, a nice desk, rainfall shower head, large windows with a view of the shopping center across the street.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The business center was great. The pool was nice but felt a bit odd to my travel companion when the large number of conference participants took breaks and stood outside the pool area smoking, chatting on cell phones and watching people lounging around the pool. It was a nice area, great big towels and comfortable furniture but a bit of a fishbowl.

Parking was free and the lot was well lighted, things got a bit overcrowded during the day when the conference center drew large numbers and in evening when the hotel restaurant and bar drew a crowd, but since we left our car in the lot and walked over to the Domain center for restaurants and shopping, we only had one night when parking was a problem.

This was a hotel which hit almost all the notes a hotel should and then some. It was a 20 minute drive into downtown, but there was plenty in the area and I would definitely choose this hotel in the future. I found it so refreshing to discover a hotel that understands the concept that at the most basic level what guests want in a hotel is safety, cleanliness, a good night's rest and ease in the experience of travel. To have all this taken care of and done in a beautiful environment can make travel a wonderful thing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasTraveler605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I truly enjoyed my stay. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to relax and avoid the craziness of a downtown property i.e. parking, traffic, noise. The room was really nice and had the latest in technology. I loved the restaurant’s menu, décor, and modern design (open kitchen). Crab cake was delicious! I came to Austin to compete in a triathlon and this place is the perfect location for any athlete trying to prepare in those last crucial hours!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCloser85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

If you know and like Westin - you won't like this. Austin has many better properties. Question the validity of the other reviews on the site?

Corners have been cut to create a small contemporary version that removes the concierge lounge on the SPG floors, free internet for SPG members and any decent parking. Service delivered by anyone over 17 with authority doesn't exist. Room service failed, the single phone in the room didn't work and a wireless connection took all night . While it's adjacent to the Domain Center... you have to drive over and park again.

They've cut every corner, then overcharge for the basics. Shame on this limited partnership owner.

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same, just a few suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank barbadiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I stay at this hotel frequently when traveling to Austin. I tried several hotels around Austin or downtown Austin (Mariott, brand new W hotel), but this one is the best.
Pros:
Rooms are great. Spacious, you have all you need there. Staff is very helpgul and friendly. I like how you can decline housekeeping and they give you extra SPG points.
Good value for this type of hotel.
Very very clean!

Cons:
This hotel is so good that sometimes it is overbooked and after 10pm it is hard to find parking ;-)
As it is not downtown, you might consider it as Con, but being at the Domain is great!
Pool is only outside (but it is heated)...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlovakKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Ok so it's a Westin. It's nice. It has a heavenly bed. It's clean, nice bar and lobby.

It is close to lots of designer shopping and some nice restaurants - easy walking distance

Parking is TERRIBLE at hotel.
Don't go there for the view.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wakefieldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights to go to an event downtown, and from reviews and looking on a map I knew it was about a 20 min drive, so I can't knock it for location.

Pros
-Fran the concierge is awesome! I called and talked to her and she had flowers, birthday balloons, strawberries and a chilled bottle of Prosecco waiting for us in the room when we arrived at 10p. (this was all a surprise for my wife)
-Really comfortable bed
-Quiet room (read some reviews about it being noisy but we didn't have this at all. Heard an occasional door close, but c'mon it's a hotel)
- Friendly staff
- Great location for shopping
- LOVED the mirror in the bathroom (sounds weird I know, but loved the lighting around it)

Cons
- Parking and this is really ridiculous, 1/2 the lot is for compact cars or for valet. We actually had to park in a dirt lot behind the hotel on our second night. They had so many cars for valet they had cars lined up in the fire lane, good thing we didn't need the fire dept to show up. The parking is really unacceptable
That is really the only con for us,

We would definitely stay here again and if it would be 5 stars if it wasn't for the parking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H2omojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 201 in Austin
470 reviews
Renaissance Austin Hotel
#53 of 201 in Austin
895 reviews
W Austin
#19 of 201 in Austin
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 201 in Austin
337 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#4 of 201 in Austin
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Address: 11301 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-7796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Austin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#19 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $183 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing