We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family experience”
Review of Nagoya

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nagoya
Ranked #1,855 of 3,754 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful family experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We love taking our 3 grandchildren out for a special dinner every year before they start back to school. Last night we visited Nagoya and the service and food were both very enjoyable. We highly recommend it when in Austin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Hibachi in a very good atmosphere”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We had a Shrimp Hibachi plus chicken and vegetable, miso soup and salad. The chef was a great performer and the service and food were excellent. We had a very good Sake-Margarita; we highly recommended it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeryandLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

In an area where food is more of the "chain" variety, this restaurant stands out. My wife and I have been twice, about 6 weeks apart, and have not been disappointed with anything. We go for the quiet tables, specialty foods, and sushi. Service has always been good, and the staff have supplied information and recommendations about the food. And the food! Last visit it was snow crab salad, light and wonderfully flavorful, then a fried oyster appetizer, and finally two bowls, one with noodles and one with rice. I grew up on the Gulf Coast eating fried oysters, and I have NEVER had such a perfectly-cooked example. Sounds ordinary, but it was not.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not fresh, not good”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We ordered a number of different Teppan meals: chicken, shrimp, and salmon. The second the seafood went on the hot plate, you could smell a strong fishy smell. So the seafood was not fresh, and taste was consistent with that. The chicken was fine, but not much taste to it. The performance was good, and maybe could use a little more enthusiasm. We ate here a year ago, and it was much better. The food here is not cheap, so it's a shame that this place has degraded into a second-rate establishment.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank originalsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere! Good Sushi!”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This place is quite unexpected given its outside appearance and location. The sushi was good and came in generous sized pieces. They have seating in a main dining area, the bar or in the traditional Japanese steakhouse open grille. There were not many diners during our visit which could be why the waitress was very attentive, but the service was great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing