We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casulo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casulo Hotel
Ranked #133 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Casulo Hotel in Austin is a small but beautiful hotel. The room was a great size (1 King bed). The bathroom is very pretty, with the soaking tub and and seperate shower in it's own room seperate from the toilet and sink. There is a window between the room and the tub/shower area so this might be awkward for a family with children, but there is a shade that you can pull down to cover the window. The room was very clean, smelled very good. The bed was comfortable, and the air conditioner was quiet. There was not a safe in the room. The WiFi signal is very low, we hardly had Wifi in our room, and we did not have a very strong cellular signal either, so internet was hit or miss. Also, our batteries on our phones and ipad were drained from constantly searching for a signal. The Hotel is next to an apartment complex, but seemed to be in a decent location. Fairly close to downtown Austin and even closer to South Congress. Overall it was a great vacation!

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, as the 1st floor would probably be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    96
    38
    41
    41
See reviews for
38
135
27
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you want to be given a key to an occupied room, or have someone walk in one you stay here. CODE VIOLATION everywhere. Stay at your own risk. Pool is dangerous. I an an inspector, I know.
No service, no help. Asian manager no where in sight, no maintenence man to repair a room they gave us with no air. HORRIBLE HOTEL

Room Tip: RUN fron this place, Does not belong in Austin at ALL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonymaroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Casulo is a bit unusual, and well worth the stay. The style is Asian fusion with some unusual touches. It is a spare room but well appointed. The large bathtub and an intriguing shower with top faucet and wall faucet that run at the same time. The "wall" between the bedroom and the bath area is a large window with a draw-down shade. The bed is comfortable , a chaise lounge is against the window, and the lighting is suitable for romance or for reading. Seriously. A continental breakfast is included, but we can't vouch for the quality as we were out with relatives. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 302, having asked for a quiet room. It was perfect. Not the greatest view, but q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this hotel to attend SXSW and paid close to $300. For a 4.5 star hotel, I would expect much better amendities then what was listed and what the condition of the hotel. Review the other listings - I agree with what other people have said. If you get a good deal - $125 or less - then it is worth it - otherwise, spend your money elsewhere. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels throughout my life so I feel that I have a good sense of what ranks as a 4 1/2 star hotel. "Free breakfast" cost an extra $10 for the second person and consisted of bagels and toast - no fruit. The hotel description website mentioned it "exemplifies the Zen lifestyle". How can a "Zen like" hotel not offer tea as an option with the coffee maker in the room? Or has a sticker on the plastic garbage can in the room (see photo). We figured out the owners have a heck of a website builder and author but this is at the most a 3 star hotel. I will say it was one of the most unique showers I have every seen (see photo).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexanTraveler77388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central , Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked this hotel on Travelocity. Price was right and location is good, centrally located and easy access to I-35. The property is an older one that has been refurbished. It still has that "new carpet" smell. The room I'm in as I type this is clean with very high ceiling and a comfortable bed. Interestingly, the bathroom wall has been replaced by a glass 'window' into the sleeping area. It opens up the room and there is a curtain there to provide privacy. If you position yourself just right, you can watch TV through the bathroom glass while showering.

Check in was fine, the woman there was new but eager to do a good job, friendly and apologetic about not knowing the system yet.

The decor of the hotel is rummage sale zen/chic. It's eclectic, and I like it, others might not. There's a small bar in the lobby and a pretty standard free breakfast.

No Bible in the room. I travel a lot and have been paying attention to that recently.

Finally, this is an interesting clean and convenient hotel. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, suites are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabezgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
403 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We didn't realize when we booked this hotel that it was near everything we wanted to do in Austin. A short drive to Lockhart, to Driftwood and Congress. We loved having a nice breakfast available to us for free; we even used the bread for our left over BBQ, so that was a "plus" for us. They are just 1/3 mile away from a great sports bar where we saw the playoff games. If we go back to Austin; we would stay there again. A nice bar if you want a drink on the way back to your room. Small but very clean and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinnie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

You can usually book this hotel for $120-150 on hotels.com when the rest of Austin is full - and for the price it isn't bad. The bathrooms are very good and the rooms are reasonable. The theming throughout the hotel is strange - it's like they tried to do a Hotel San Jose with Asian art and it doesn't quite work. The check-in and bar service is inconsistent and the food in the bar takes a while - a little training here would go a long way. Overall, it's not a bad place to stay despite the quirkiness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#58 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
South Austin
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Jose
#62 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casulo Hotel

Property: Casulo Hotel
Address: 3017 South I-35, Austin, TX 78741
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casulo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Casulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing