We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Contemporary Hotel”
Review of Casulo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casulo Hotel
Ranked #151 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I loved this hotel. It is very contemporary in style. Soft beds, great walk in shower with dual rain shower heads. Loved the chaise lounge in my room. I stayed in a regular king room, but would love to get a suite next time. Beautiful lobby with bar. Continental breakfast is very limited tho.
Hotel is on the south end of town. So you can get to it before you hit most of the crazy traffic. Really close to St Edwards,a very short drive to downtown and UTSA.
Highly recommend and I will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katwoman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 346 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel has a lot of really nice modern features installed in an otherwise older building. Separate showers with waterfall showerheads, great art reproductions, and a sushi bar in the lobby, for example. The decor is an unusual mix, I don't have the design background to say if it is inspired or an unfortunate mishmash, but it is definitely unusual!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel and staff were wonderful! Everyone was very friendly, the room was lovely and clean. Me and my husband will definitely return

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bran9545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I was traveling on business, with my girlfriend, and this hotel was perfect for my budget, while providing a romantic environment, convenient to downtown. The hotel is small, yet stylish. The focus is on the stylish Asian influenced room. Large bed, well decorated room. The best part was the walk-in shower with the double shower head. Two can easily shower, while conserving water. The tub was very large, too. The staff was very friendly, and everything went smoothly from check-in to check out. The location is between Woodward Blvd and Oltorf, so it is very easy to get to and from downtown via Congress street. Casulo is the perfect option if you are not looking to spend a fortune and want something much better than a standard room and yet more affordable than the luxury hotels.

Room Tip: I selected the standard King and was very pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The hotel is not bad, the rooms are abnormally large and the staff friendly..Just at closer look the rooms need a little upkeep, nothing major. Location is out of the way a bit which is fine for me. Very small tv in bedroom- had to change rooms as the initial room had a tv in living room but not bedroom...need tv to sleep for me, especially when traveling.

Room Tip: If you prefer a tv in bedroom please request
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiotechCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in town for a family reunion and it was such a treat to "get away" and stay in this hotel. Staff was very accommodating and the room makes you feel like you are getting away with a hugh upgrade. I loved the shower/bathtub room and enjoyed a bubble bath nightly. We loved the pillows and duvet so much I wrote the brand down to try and order the same online. It was so comfortable we didn't ever want to get up and move!! And the outdoor pool area was nice to just sit around and enjoy a couple glasses of wine;) We will definitely come back and recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L-Tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the last night of our visit to Austin. The hotel was very easy to find right off the freeway. I thought it was a nice touch having the front desk staff wear a traditional Japanese style clothing instead of the typical hotel uniform. The rooms look very nice and I loved the bathrooms. Very nice fixtures and the shower with dual shower heads was perfect. The big glass window from the bath to the room was a cool touch. This remodel had the right idea with the look and theme, but in my opinion the overall finishing was lacking some quality on the little details. I am overly critical though since I work for a different hotel company. I woke up a little late and found the continental breakfast unattended and 90% depleted. I was able to get some orange juice and cold cereal, but found it tricky to get it up to my room for both my wife and I since they had no trays to carry the breakfast on. The desk had no phone, but the toilet did??? is this a Japanese thing?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ro22sS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#49 of 202 in Austin
1,584 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#4 of 202 in Austin
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Jose
#69 of 202 in Austin
376 reviews
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#47 of 202 in Austin
376 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casulo Hotel

Address: 3017 South I-35, Austin, TX 78741
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $108 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casulo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing