We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot to Stay in Austin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses
Ranked #14 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We recently stayed at Casa Kenwood for a week while visiting our son in Austin. It was a terrific spot. Close to all the interesting sites in town yet just far enough away to make for a peaceful stay. The owners were very nice. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The accomodations were like having your own Casita with trees all around and a big back yard to relax in. We do not like large hotels and enjoy the smaller places. It was clean (NO BUGS) and kinda of funky.

We would stay there again if traveling to Austin.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

LOVED this place! Truly an Austin gem. The owners were so hospitable and the place was the perfect place to chill out. Close to everything. What more could you ask for? I went there with my girlfriends for a girl's weekend away, but would totally stay there with my husband and two kids as well. It was awesome!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank KellyGPueblo_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My partner and booked a stay here for 10 days to get a real feel for Austin, have to say it was the worst place I've ever stayed. Location is great and it is a lovely gem but our problem was it was infested with bugs. Cockroaches behind the cooker and in the cupboards, dead ones under the bed and then there was the tree worms. After a full day out would arrive home to 40+ of them crawling around the floor and up the walls, woke up in the mornings covered in bits and would find dead worms in the bed. The owner tried his best to rectify the problem but to no avail, he agreed to refund the remainder of our stay as it was ruining our trip but then refused to pay out once we had left. He made every excuse in the book and even blamed us for not reading the policy properly! Eventually we had to get in contact with Austin Business Bureau and 3 months later we eventually got our money back. My advice, stay in the Austin Motel on the strip, couple of dollars more per night but much much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jay_ashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaowner, Owner at Casa Kenwood Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

As the owner of casa kenwood guesthouses, I'm glad that TripAdvisor gives vrbo owners the opportunity to respond to reviews. Since this is our only bad review (and is the antithesis of all of our other reviews on TripAdvisor, not to mention on Yelp--after all, one star is a far cry from all 5 stars given to us from everyone else), it's very important that anyone who reads and considers it have the opportunity to hear the other side of the story.

Other reviewers have mentioned how accomodating and eager we are to address or fix any unforeseen problems, and we were no less so with this situation:

When this particular reviewer told us he saw bugs, we addressed the problem immediately. He neglected to mention that we actually paid for him and his girlfriend to stay in a motel on South Congress for two nights while we addressed his concerns.

We also paid for someone to come out and not only get rid of any and all bugs, which were left over from two things: a very rainy and hot few weeks that brought out little roly-poly inch-worms in the trees--something that went away as quickly as it hit (all of Austin, especially wooded areas, was affected), and some water bugs that came in through a previously undetected area in the porch, which we paid someone to thoroughly seal up.

After those 2 nights we let him know that we addressed the problem, and he and his girlfriend (who was actually the person who rented from us, not him) returned, but then he quickly said they changed their minds and didn't want to stay with us anymore. Actually, she wanted to stay, but he wanted us to give them a refund for the remainder of their nights. And he didn't want a credit card refund, he wanted cash on the spot.

Our policy is that we can give refunds, but only if we are able to re-book those dates, and then the refund takes at least 30 days to process (after all, we are a small family-run business). Since they booked 10 days total, it would have been feasible that the remainder of dates could have been re-rented, but it turned out that they were not. Our policy is clearly stated on our website, and we pointed this out to this person, but he was intent on doing everything he could for money back, even threatening to give us a bad review unless we gave it to him.

I am not aware of him contacting the Austin Better Business Bureau, and there are currently no complaints about us listed on their website. No action was taken against us in any way, shape or form due to this person, nor anyone else. We did eventually gave money back, but it was our own decision, if only to just be done with the situation. And he wrote this bad review anyway (note that his stay was in September '10 and his review is dated January '11).

All small businesses care about their reputations, because our reputation is our livelihood. But it is unfortunate and sad that there are some people out there who would try to "game the system", get some free motel nights out of someone, and then decide that they could save money by claiming we did something wrong and make a few extra dollars out of it by using a bad review as a threat to get that cash.

Every chance we get, we take the opportunity to upgrade our accomodations. The casita is a delightful and unique place (even this reviewer said it is "a lovely gem"), and we work very hard to make it comfortable, clean, pest-free, and utterly unique.

If you have ANY questions at all about us, please let us know. We'd be happy to get you in touch with real people who have stayed with us who've had a great stay.

Thank you,
Christina Shapter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

i thoroughly enjoyed my 4 nights here. saw the owner when i was walking up and he was very friendly but not pushy or quizzical. i hate pushy and quizzical.

the casa is behind the property and it is like a cabin/retreat with a beautiful view of the very green Travis Heights neighborhood. it was extremely cold when i was visiting-like 40 degrees or something-but the heaters in every room kept me warm throughout my stay. you can't go wrong with this place. i promise.

+++it's also a stones throw away from the Chain Drive (Austin's answer to the leather question)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cholulo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Everthing we expected and more. From being helped with our luggage to being presented with an indoor grill the gracious hosts of this unique property were one the highlights of our escape from a gray world. We were transported to a world of peace and serenity. Austin at it's best.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fergyrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The perfect place to stay for a "true" Austin experience. I have had the pleasure of staying at Casa Kenwood - I have rented both Studio Azul and Casita Roja, seperately and together. I have been to Austin many times and stayed expensive, trendy hotels and more modest acoomodations. This property is a huge part of what lures me back to Austin, TX! The Shapters are wonderful and accomodating hosts with the BEST guesthouses in the capital city. Both are extremely comfortable the setting is beautiful, and I cant wait to return in 2011!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank staceycuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This unique and special place really provided the experience of staying in Austin as a local. The neighborhood was beautiful and quite convenient. We walked several times across the Congress Bridge to a lounge on 4th Street and it was 1.9 miles. The great shops on South Congress are just under a mile away. That said, if you're not a very active person the location may be a bit too far for walking, but cabs are quite easy to come by and of course, it is very driveable.

We stayed in Casa Azul and were very pleased by all of the attention to detail. It had the warmth of staying at a (much cooler, more stylish) friend's place while they were away. Instead of the sterility of a hotel room, there were touches like magazines, plants and kitchen items like coffee, sugar, etc. The backyard was lovely with plenty of places just begging you to sit and have coffee or a beer. I'm sad it was so hot while we were there because we definitely would have enjoyed that. The good thing is, the air conditioner works very well!

I dealt with Andrew throughout the reservation process and it was a breeze! They really allow you your privacy, yet make themselves very available if you ever need anything. We only saw them on the last day as we were leaving! This place will help create great memories for your stay in Austin and will be comfortable and inspiring as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glittystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 203 in Austin
2,304 reviews
South Austin
Kimber Modern Hotel
Kimber Modern Hotel
#2 of 36 in Austin
378 reviews
The Fairview
#1 of 36 in Austin
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Austin
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#3 of 36 in Austin
76 reviews
La Villa Vista
#10 of 36 in Austin
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kenwood Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kenwood Guesthouses

Address: 1401 Kenwood Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $139 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses are one treehouse cabin (Casita Roja) and one cool "artist's" loft (Studio Azul) in the neighborhood of Travis Heights in Austin, Texas. We're not a hotel, not a bed and breakfast, and not a traditional vacation rental... We live on-site and we have two cool guesthouses and a great outdoor property that we are excited to share with travelers to Austin who are longing to discover a hint of that something special that makes Austin "weird." Visit Austin and still feel like you're home, not in a run-of-the-mill vanilla box! We're colorfully laid-back, we're artsy, we're pet friendly. There's a link to our website on this listing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing