We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplicity at it's best.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses
Ranked #14 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simplicity at it's best.”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Everthing we expected and more. From being helped with our luggage to being presented with an indoor grill the gracious hosts of this unique property were one the highlights of our escape from a gray world. We were transported to a world of peace and serenity. Austin at it's best.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fergyrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The perfect place to stay for a "true" Austin experience. I have had the pleasure of staying at Casa Kenwood - I have rented both Studio Azul and Casita Roja, seperately and together. I have been to Austin many times and stayed expensive, trendy hotels and more modest acoomodations. This property is a huge part of what lures me back to Austin, TX! The Shapters are wonderful and accomodating hosts with the BEST guesthouses in the capital city. Both are extremely comfortable the setting is beautiful, and I cant wait to return in 2011!

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank staceycuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This unique and special place really provided the experience of staying in Austin as a local. The neighborhood was beautiful and quite convenient. We walked several times across the Congress Bridge to a lounge on 4th Street and it was 1.9 miles. The great shops on South Congress are just under a mile away. That said, if you're not a very active person the location may be a bit too far for walking, but cabs are quite easy to come by and of course, it is very driveable.

We stayed in Casa Azul and were very pleased by all of the attention to detail. It had the warmth of staying at a (much cooler, more stylish) friend's place while they were away. Instead of the sterility of a hotel room, there were touches like magazines, plants and kitchen items like coffee, sugar, etc. The backyard was lovely with plenty of places just begging you to sit and have coffee or a beer. I'm sad it was so hot while we were there because we definitely would have enjoyed that. The good thing is, the air conditioner works very well!

I dealt with Andrew throughout the reservation process and it was a breeze! They really allow you your privacy, yet make themselves very available if you ever need anything. We only saw them on the last day as we were leaving! This place will help create great memories for your stay in Austin and will be comfortable and inspiring as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glittystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Words cannot describe how relaxing and wonderful our time was at Casa Kenwood. It's like staying at a really cool friend's guest cottage! I felt immediately calmed after stepping foot in the Studio Azul - all of the care that goes into this establishment with all of its artistic touches is obvious. I especially appreciated being able to get away from the hot rod crowds and spectacle of Congress Avenue and 6th Street when needed. The owners have all the amenities you would need - a fully stocked kitchenette, bathroom toiletries, and area brochures. We would definitely recommend this to all of our friends who are traveling to Austin!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHVirginiaNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Casa Kenwood Guesthouse for 7 days in March. If you have ever been to Austin and want to stay somewhere that personifies this magical city, this is it. We stayed in the larger guesthouse, Casa Azul, and it was perfect. It is much larger than a hotel room and has all the amenities of a suite, including a kitchenette. It has floor to ceiling windows that overlook a ravine. The washroom is funky and has a great shower. The location is just minutes away from downtown Austin and South Congress (we walked to both) and there is decent public transit just a couple of minutes away. I have stayed at most of the major hotels in Austin and this beats them all by a long shot. I was a little hesitant to write this because there are only two guesthouses and I always will want to stay there when I am in Austin. I cannot say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thanjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairview
#2 of 35 in Austin
142 reviews
South Austin
Kimber Modern Hotel
Kimber Modern Hotel
#1 of 35 in Austin
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kenwood Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kenwood Guesthouses

Property: Casa Kenwood Guesthouses
Address: 1401 Kenwood Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses are one treehouse cabin (Casita Roja) and one cool "artist's" loft (Studio Azul) in the neighborhood of Travis Heights in Austin, Texas. We're not a hotel, not a bed and breakfast, and not a traditional vacation rental... We live on-site and we have two cool guesthouses and a great outdoor property that we are excited to share with travelers to Austin who are longing to discover a hint of that something special that makes Austin "weird." Visit Austin and still feel like you're home, not in a run-of-the-mill vanilla box! We're colorfully laid-back, we're artsy, we're pet friendly. There's a link to our website on this listing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing