We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down the Most Comfortable and Dog Friendly Place in Austin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses
Ranked #13 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hands Down the Most Comfortable and Dog Friendly Place in Austin”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We LOVE Casa Kenwood! The first time we stayed there was this past Thanksgiving (2011) which also happened to be my thirtieth birthday. We = myself, my boyfriend and our playful Jack Russell Terrier. We could not have had a better time! It was an awesome get away from Dallas, it was relaxing, inviting and oh so convenient. In fact, we enjoyed it so much we visited again in February when a friend from Florida came into town to check out Austin for the first time. She loved it just as much as we did (not sure how she couldn’t). We also recommended this place to a friend of ours who has a German Shepard and they raved about it upon their return to Dallas. We are returning yet again in a couple of weeks when my parents fly in from Florida.

All the times we have visited we have stayed in the Casita Roja which offers amazing views and adequate accommodations for up to four people. Although it may be a bit of a squeeze there is plenty of space outdoors and trust me that’s where you will want to be on this property. We did tour the Casa Azul, and we were impressed, it would be an excellent couples retreat.

The neighborhood itself is quite beautiful and there are bikes on property to be able to tour the city. There are tennis courts within walking distance not to mention also within walking distance is South Congress and Auditorium Shores park with the most awesome off leash dog park around! Whole Foods, restaurant row, food truck park and downtown are a very short car ride or taxi ride away (like seriously all within 5 mins. tops). Andrew (the owner) has some great suggestions of places off the beaten path and he and his wife are more than willing to help in any way possible, just ask!

This is our go to retreat when visiting Austin. I really can’t imagine a better place to spend our time in Austin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NattyBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have recently returned from a week's stay at Casa Kenwood ( Studio Azul) and can't sing its praises enough!! It is in a great location in a leafy suburb only 15 mins walk from funky S.Congress and bus routes further afield, and is paradise! Roomy, well appointed and immaculately clean, it's uniqueness is not done justice by the photos on the website and it has to be seen to be believed. The garden is a huge bonus, too, perfect for some "down time". The owners are helpful but discreet and their dogs so sweet! I will definitely stay here again when I next visit Austin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed in the Casita Roja for 2 nights in March. It's cozy, but very cool, there are so many unique touches throughout the casita. Felt just like staying at home, except I wish my place was as nice as this one. The grounds are amazing, great change of pace if you are seeking some peace and quiet compared to the busy downtown area. Only a short 15-20 minute walk to the SoCo district where there are some great places to eat and shop. I had a late flight returning home and the owner, Andrew, was kind enough to let me store my luggage after checking out, so I was able to do some last minute souvenir shopping. Overall, it was a great place to stay and would love to stay again next time I'm in Austin.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR_Tackles_The_Globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Very cool experience. We stayed in the Studio Azul. Super comfortable. We were two adults, two elementary kids. The place was big and roomy and perfect for a couple of days or a week.

There is a fold out futon in addition to the very comfy king size bed, and the owner, Andrew S, also provided a roll up mattress that is perfect for a kid. The grounds and outside space were very inviting. The seating area inside beckons you to relax and chill out. There's a coffee maker, kettle, fridge, stove, microwave.

I would stay there again, or recommend it for friends or family if you don't have a guest room and live in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed in Studio Azul for just over two weeks and it was a home away from home. It is completely quirky, but not at the expense of cleanliness or amenity. The guesthouse is in a really quiet neighbourhood, but within easy walking distance from South Congress, downtown etc. Studio Azul has a king-sized bed, which is just divine, and a fully-functional kitchen. I cooked most meals - there is a great little store called Farm to Market on South Congress, just two blocks south of the intersection of Congress and East Monroe street (opposite the food vans). I'm an active person, so I enjoyed walking and cycling in the Travis Heights neighbourhood, which is pretty hilly. There are bikes on site, but I was cycling about 20 or so kms a day, so I needed something faster - if you want some recommendations see my other reviews. I will be back!

Room Tip: Studio Azul is more modern, Casita Roja has a better view
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegreatplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed at the Casa Roja for four nights. Loved the place! The location is great. If's about a 15 minute walk to South Congress and all the shops, restaurants, Continental Club, etc. The Travis Heights neighborhood is nice and quiet, hilly, and wooded. The grounds of the Casa Kenwood are fantastic! The rooms were clean, comfortable, and decorated with a really cool Austin vibe. My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer. I will definitely stay here again next time I come to Austin.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2RollingStoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Affordable. Quirky. Quiet. Convenient. Fun. The property is wonderful. Within walking distance to the lake and South Congress, in a great Austin neighborhood. Me and my wife really enjoyed our stay. We loved sitting on the back patio during the evening enjoying drinks and the company of TeddyBear! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fragiperv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 203 in Austin
1,325 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kenwood Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kenwood Guesthouses

Property: Casa Kenwood Guesthouses
Address: 1401 Kenwood Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Kenwood Guesthouses are one treehouse cabin (Casita Roja) and one cool "artist's" loft (Studio Azul) in the neighborhood of Travis Heights in Austin, Texas. We're not a hotel, not a bed and breakfast, and not a traditional vacation rental... We live on-site and we have two cool guesthouses and a great outdoor property that we are excited to share with travelers to Austin who are longing to discover a hint of that something special that makes Austin "weird." Visit Austin and still feel like you're home, not in a run-of-the-mill vanilla box! We're colorfully laid-back, we're artsy, we're pet friendly. There's a link to our website on this listing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing