We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around Austin
from $25.00
More Info
from $37.90
More Info
from $54.13
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (3,267)
Filter reviews
3,267 results
Traveler rating
2,378
751
126
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,378
751
126
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vietnam war civil rights president johnson great society replica of the oval office jackie kennedy white house his life american history lady bird interactive exhibits university of texas campus three floors special exhibit great exhibits on display well worth the visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 3,267 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

LBJ accomplished more for civil rights in America than any president besides Lincoln, and the library exhibits did a wonderful job evoking the sentiment of the era, and the struggles that were required. There's a broad range of materials, from the written journals and hand-annotated speeches to recorded phone calls, short documentaries, and other audiovisual displays. As a bonus they had a Motown exhibit while we were there.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BigFuzzySwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unique Presidential Library. LBJ had an incredible term as President and this building covers it in incredible detail

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only had less than two hours to see everything but was able to gave a good visit. Part of the museum was under construction so that was a bummer. Not sure why there is a Motown exhibit in the museum. Seemed odd and a bit exploiting of black people.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Miscongenial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Library is set up beautifully and offers a great exhibition on LBJ's Presidency in a historic context. We learned a lot about the sixties, LBJ's time, and the Vietnam War and the dilemma around that. We visited from Denmark but enjoyed learning American history this way. I can recommend it for Americans as well as visitors from abroad.
We did also enjoy the Motown Special Exhibit. It was the history of the music from my teenage years. If you like museums stores this has a good one. The parking is free, and it is very easy accessible.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank AnniDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have always admired LBJ's contribution to our nation, but I had forgotten some of the important legislation that he is responsible for . . . Medicare/Medicaid; Public Broadcasting; NPR; as well as the important Civil Rights advancements. This is a wonderful and interactive museum/library that includes a replication of the Oval Office that is 7/8th of the original size. Fantastic!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank LauraZWoodstock_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews