We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Bonnell

Mount Bonnell
Ranked #9 of 314 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful park looming almost 800 feet over Austin.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

A nice break in family gatherings. I had to take a couple of breaks to get up the steep steps but at the top is a great view of the lake, city views and large homes on both sides of lake. There are some picnic tables to sit and enjoy the view. Missed our turn off, but didn't mind because of the variety of homes on the drive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    365
    121
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Inspiring Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Mount Bonnell is a magical location just outside of Austin. A trip up to the top is well worth the beautiful views of the river and the city. The homes surrounding the river are beautiful. Definitely recommend visiting and know we will be back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank graye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So close to the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

A nice drive to get there and well worth a stop.
A short climb of 104 or so stairs ans the reward is beautiful views of the lake and the city.
A short stroll down the path and you can read a bit of the history about it too.

Helpful?
Thank toohotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best view in Austin.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Mount Bonnell is not for anyone who is not able to walk, walk, walk. While there are stairs up to the top...there are about 100 of them and the climb is pretty steep. Once you get to the top, you can really get a wonderful panoramic view of most all of Austin. I would not recommend this climb for young children, there's no playgrounds, grassy areas or anything but a long climb up for them...plan on carrying them back down in a short while, because they will be very bored up there. The paths and trails at the top are pretty barren, but what can you expect on a huge slab of rock? If you appreciate natural rugged beauty, its worth the climb. I would call it a one-hit-wonder...once you've done it, you've seen all it has to offer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeawindsRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely area with lovely views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We only drove through on our tour. Lovely area that I wish we had more time to come back and hike! Definitely on the list for next time in the city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimshe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Bonnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing