We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Paramount Theatre
from $25.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
63
28
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
28
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic theater film series double feature classic films movie palace lyle lovett wonderful venue live music downtown austin acoustics usher restored concert performers sponsored columns restoration
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

I had the pleasure of visiting this historic theater during the 25th annual Austin Film Festival. It is a beautiful venue in the heart of downtown Austin, Texas! Staff was very friendly.

Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Other than seats being a little tight for the big man, it is a great venue for many things. I've seen several live shows as well as films.

Thank cmiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

What an intimate time piece of a theatre to watch an amazing concert! Great attendants, acoustics and seating. I applaud Austin and the theater owners for keeping this historic building lively.

Thank Stan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

I love the Paramount. The interior design is true to the original structure. It’s a small, intimate venue. Only bad thing...seats in the balcony are tiny with no leg room at all.

1  Thank KAY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

This is a lovingly preserved grand old theatre the is over a hundred years old. They book everything from Broadway to comedy to classic films and, of course, live music. Within the last year I have enjoyed acts as varied as Gary Clark, Jr. on stage by himself with just a guitar, Hayes Carl, Allison Moorer and Shelby Lynn, and Steve Earle. In the last two weeks I sat in the mezzanine and listened to Emmy Lou Harris and a week later sat in the orchestra section and watched full on soul and rock and roll by Little Steven and the Disciples of Soul(2 drummers, two sax players, trumpet, trombone, electric piano, organ, bass guitar, 2 lead guitars, and three backup singers/dancers). It was electric. The crowd stood during much of the gig.The theatre handled both shows with ease. The ushers are some of the sweetest people I have ever met. Don't worry about seating. This is a very small venue and I have never had a bad seat, whether it was the balcony, mezzanine or orchestra.

1  Thank waeaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

Came to see Emmy Lou Harris in this concert venue. Incredible place for a concert. Lovingly restored. Kindest ushers ever! Go see this place the inside is a terrific treasure from the glory days of theatre.

Thank Alicemarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We got here fairly often to see concerts. They staff is wonderful and it's a beautiful historic building. We love it!

Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

Old Austin favorite , nearby parking available . Great architecture serves beer and wine . Nice theater

Thank Ribhu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We attended a Home Free concert at the Paramount. The show was terrific, but it was enhanced by this venue. It's an old restored theater that was originally opened in 1915. After many years of active use as a "B" movie theater, it eventually declined and fell into disrepair. In the 1970's, a restoration took place, and the theater appears to have been restored to its original condition. It has some ornate features, typical of its original appearance, and it's acoustics are good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The show was excellent, in large part, because of all of the above. The only downside is the seats are old and not tremendously comfortable. Otherwise, this was a good experience.

Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I went to see Puddles Pity Party and was reminded why I like the historic Paramount Theater. We sat in the last row on the floor and still enjoyed the show. While the seats could be improved this is a quality setting for any performance. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

My only constructive feedback would be to play the pre-performance music at a decent level. The overall sound level was to high and the bass was WAY TOO LOUD!!Heck I think it loosened a filling in a tooth. We wish we had brought ear plugs. Fortunately it was tuned correctly for the main performance.

Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews