We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ira Glass Show”
Review of Paramount Theatre

Paramount Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Austin Historic Downtown 5K
Ranked #64 of 321 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Luxurious theater dating back to 1915 now hosts Broadway shows.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
782 reviews
309 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Ira Glass Show”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Considering the Paramount is 100 years old it's in pretty good shape. You can park about a block away for only $6 & the money goes to the theatre which is great. The parking garage is in an office building but I can't remember the name.

We were up in the balcony but the seats were fine for listening to someone speak. The seats are very small & if someone needs to get by pretty much everyone exits the row.
Before the show started they were playing a slideshow of events that they had coming up. If we lived in Austin (we live in Dallas) we'd definitely frequent the Paramount, they had a pretty good line up.
Of course it's also located downtown with all the action so it's easy to grab dinner before or after the show.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Craig Ferguson show”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Paramount is a great historic venue in downtown Austin. The show was hilarious and great fun! My only advice is if you are in the high balconies, be aware the stairs are narrow.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old fashioned theater venue”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A nice venue for live music, shows or film. Well located in downtown Austin, yet the parking is definitely less than desirable; sometimes others blocking the only entrance to the parking availability...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xochtil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Vintage Theater, Fun Shows!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Paramount is a really well maintained vintage theater, and we have attended multiple shows there. Comedians, musicians, and feature films are our favorites. We have seen Craig Ferguson, a sci-fi double feature.

The funds from ticket and bar sales go to sustain the organization that runs the theater, and it is well worth it.

The location is an easy walk to various attractions in downtown, the area is safe, and always very busy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morgonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Historically Beautiful! Love it!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited Paramount Theatre for the first time on 12/31/13, New Year's Eve, to see Bob Schneider. The Paramount is absolutely beautiful. The sound was amazing inside. It was a great experience. If you have a chance to go to a show at Paramount Theatre, go!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank graydfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paramount Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Paramount Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing