We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vintage Theater, Fun Shows!”
Review of Paramount Theatre

Paramount Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Austin Historic Downtown 5K
Ranked #65 of 321 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Luxurious theater dating back to 1915 now hosts Broadway shows.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Vintage Theater, Fun Shows!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Paramount is a really well maintained vintage theater, and we have attended multiple shows there. Comedians, musicians, and feature films are our favorites. We have seen Craig Ferguson, a sci-fi double feature.

The funds from ticket and bar sales go to sustain the organization that runs the theater, and it is well worth it.

The location is an easy walk to various attractions in downtown, the area is safe, and always very busy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morgonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Historically Beautiful! Love it!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited Paramount Theatre for the first time on 12/31/13, New Year's Eve, to see Bob Schneider. The Paramount is absolutely beautiful. The sound was amazing inside. It was a great experience. If you have a chance to go to a show at Paramount Theatre, go!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank graydfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Theater”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We rang in 2014 at Bob Schneider's concert at the Paramount Theater. The theater was a little hard for my husband to navigate due to his difficulty walking (uses a cane); and, we were in the balcony (ushers very attentive though). But, the theater is historic and beautiful. And, it is on the most festive street in Austin during the holidays, Congress Avenue. This theater is hard to beat for atmosphere, location and entertainers it attracts.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grand Theatre”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I attended two screenings for the film festival here and loved the architecture. Balcony seating was superb, no bobbing over heads, and it has a sense of history, the indoor carpeting is red and the concession stand is polished wood. Lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this old venue”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went to see Aimee Mann at the Paramount.. Being raised in Austin, I'd only been there once before. I love the venue.. it's smaller, cozy, and there's really not a bad seat in the house. I will say however, the AC wasn't working so well. .all those people and it was Quite hot. Nice bar, and folks were very accomodating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paramount Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Paramount Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing