We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore UT was awesome!”

University of Texas at Austin
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Austin and Texas Hill Country
Ranked #10 of 321 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1883, this university is steeped in history.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
181 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Explore UT was awesome!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

From Louisiana visiting UT campus for open house and the experience was very positive. Great school, beautiful campus and love the Longhorn band! If daughter is accepted, this IS where she will go! Thanks for a great, memorable weekend UT.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    208
    67
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Israel, Jerusalem
Level Contributor
270 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“young university feel”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

the austin's university of texas campus gives you a young feeling when you see it from the beginning. all those kids running around looking busy... the main front lawn looks beautiful with the fountain and the tower at the back. we couldn't go up the tower because ut was closed. you can check the visiting hours at the visitor center at 405 W. 25th Street. we just walked around, had a great sandwich at the potbelly shop and continued walking 10 more minutes to the state capitol building.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank amiroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“High school senior trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Even though it's a big university it doesn't seem too big. It's a beautiful campus in the middle of Austin. We were there during the middle of the day while classes were going and we were wandering around with our map. We stopped several random students for direction help and everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperTxMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,445 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,509 helpful votes
“15 minutes visit”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Since Austin doesn't have much to see or do, we decided to take a look at the UTexas campus. It's a short walk from the State Capitol. The campus is big, it has several buildings and a sports area. 15 minutes are enough to visit it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
498 reviews
436 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Pretty grounds”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Parking is nearly impossible so this turned into a driving tour for most of the time. We eventually strolled around and checked out the football stadium and the tower. Though you need an appointment to get up the tower which seems ridiculous. Either way, it is a striking campus and worth walking around if you have some time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dand978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Texas at Austin also viewed

 

Been to University of Texas at Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing