We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for children”

Zilker Zephyr Miniature Train
Ranked #72 of 319 things to do in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free ride for children on a miniature train that encircles Zilker Park.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for children”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My toddler loved going in the train. You get very nice views from town lake, zilker park and the trail. You can also have some graet fun in the playground right at where the train starts. I would highly recommend to family with small children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bpcf.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    46
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun for little ones”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I rode the Zilker Zephyr and had a great time. It's about a 20 minute ride around Zilker Park and cost $8 for all of us. It was good, cheap fun on a pretty day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for the Wee Ickles!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Kids love it. Adults tolerate it. All in all it is a cute novelty around the whole park which is fun for the kidlets!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mControl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Review from a former Engineer!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Admittedly, my review is slightly biased. During the summer of 1986, I was an employee of the Zilker Park RR as an "Engineer"! But, it has changed over the years. Recently, on a rare trip back to Austin, I took an opportunity with a friend to ride the train as a visitor. The staff was very friendly and, offered me a ride on the train, free, because of my former association. But, this certainly will not taint my opinion. The train is sedate; fun for lovers or, children up to about elementary school. The train leisurely traverses Zilker park hugging a cliff on the creek then, curving to a view of "Town Lake". It is well worth the price of the ticket! It is fun!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the adults loved it as much as the kids!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a fun, inexpensive activity to do with people of all ages when the weather is good. The ride has great views of the park and lake. Combine it with a dip in Barton Springs Pool, a trip to the lovely playground and/or a meal at Shady Grove for a day out!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank texas_teacher_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zilker Zephyr Miniature Train also viewed

 

Been to Zilker Zephyr Miniature Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing