We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monk like”
Review of Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Jose
Ranked #76 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I went to check this place for the future. People have mentioned " minimal " as to the surroundings. Let's put it this way. It looked like a bed found in a monastery. Yes it had a bed. A lamp. A mirror and a toilet. Much to my surprise that rates were not "minimal". It is a great location BUT...I visit regularly but now find around the same spot really affordable studio apts. through flip key.

Now I have extra money to spend on Congress Ave.

Room Tip: Check out Flip Key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 380 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Amazing boutique hotel with less than 30 rooms, very minimal and stark but very Austin. They have awesome Malin and Goetz body products and sell them in the lobby as well. Outside bar and private pool make this a must stop in Austin.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffreyjohn1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was excited to try the San Jose. I usually stay with friends while in Austin so this was a special treat. When booking travel I seek out the boutique and modern hotels so this was on my list of one to try. The grounds are beautiful! The courtyard became our hangout for the next seven or so hours until we walked down the street to get some food. Yes, you can literally walk to food-the location is unbeatable. The particular room we had was a disappointment. There was a serious lack of natural light and it felt really cave-like. I did appreciate the design details and groovy robes and shampoos. I also appreciated the carefully curated sundries they sell at the front desk. I can tell someone from management has got the marketing down to a T. However, when I politely discussed my thoughts on our room with the front desk boy he response reeked of teenage ambivalence. This didn't sit well because while paying upwards of $300 per night for a room I like to think someone cares if I like my room or not, or even pretend to care. His only suggestion was that we were welcome to find another hotel for the night. This just didn't have the Texas charm I know and love so well.

Room Tip: get a room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seehoustonlosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan H, General Manager at Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello SeehoustonLosAngeles,
Thank you for taking the time to review the San Jose. We truly appreciate honest and helpful feedback. I would love to hear more about your experience with our front desk staff. We definitely strive for excellent customer service. In fact, we continually provide our staff with customer service trainings and specific examples are the best tools to use. With that being said, if you would be so inclined to email me with more detail that would be incredible and will absolutely help cultivate a more effective and friendly level of communication on our part.

We'd be grateful to have the opportunity to serve you as our guest again soon and would welcome any and all feedback.

Have a lovely weekend and thanks again for sharing your travel experience with us all.

Kindest Regards,
Meghan Hughes
General Manager
reservations@sanjosehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Anytime we can afford it, we stay at the Hotel San Jose. Most recent visit was in February 2014 and we literally stayed onsite for bulk of trip. As a native Austinite, sightseeing isn't a high priority for me...lounging around the pool/bar is. Plenty of restaurants/food trucks within walking distance, as well as Congress Avenue Bridge (think Batman), Town Lake (miles of pedestrian/biking trails) and Jo's Coffee in the parking lot (caffeine and a good book, anyone?). And don't forget people watching! The 'keep Austin weird' motto may have had its epicenter at or near SoCo: more tats, piercings and dyed hair than you will see anywhere else in Texas. Hope to see you next trip to Austin, HSJ!

Room Tip: anything facing pool/lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alyson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband wanted to stay at the Hotel San Hose, but we decided to go elsewhere in SoCo. To get a feel for the place we went to the outdoor patio for a drink and it was delightful. Wonderful welcoming bar staff, interesting drink offerings, and a super ambiance for unwinding after an active day. I had a sparking wine/passion fruit drink with fresh raspberries, and my husband a Texas IPA (he was on a quest to find as many as he could during our travels). Next time in Austin, we'll consider staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ToTravelIsBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

we spent a night here to get a taste of Austin and all it's glory. The hotel is right smack in the middle of South Congress. Location location location. That's San Jose Hotel. It's the right amount of hip, almost too much for me but based on what i saw on their website and what i'd heard from others, I should have expected it. The only reason I gave this hotel 4 stars was due to the size of our hotel room. It was tiny. Barely any space to move around the queen size bed. The bathroom was huge and spacious, made me wonder why they didn't think to reduce the bathroom size and provide more space around the bed. Aside from that, I would be open to staying at this hotel in the future, if I was looking for convenient location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelHaze16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had walked by this hidden gem on SoCo several times, and had been very curious as to what it was all about. Went to visit my son, and jumped at the chance to stay here. Can't wait to go back.

It was fabulous!! Location, location, location, fabulous staff, great beer garden, adorable pool, intimate setting, love the minimalist decor, its accessibility, on and on and on. The bed was extremely comfortable, and loved feeling like I was in a garden oasis in the middle of downtown Austin.

Felt very comfortable being here as a 52 year-old woman traveling alone. Loved the comfy patio chairs outside my room. Only negatives would be that I couldn't figure out how to work the blinds, and I think the shower could be better - hated that it was pretty much on top of the toilet, and also in need of updating.

The staff are truly fabulous and as for being next door to Jo's coffee shop - Well - what could be better than that?? Also loved that there was no charge for parking.

What a fun retreat to a whole different Austin from the one I lived in when I attended UT 30+ years ago!!!

Room Tip: Loved my room on the first floor - happy I didn't have to traipse upstairs. Also liked being off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrazyhazyPlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Congress Hotel
#25 of 205 in Austin
316 reviews
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#50 of 205 in Austin
389 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#16 of 205 in Austin
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Driskill
#27 of 205 in Austin
2,128 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 205 in Austin
1,581 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 205 in Austin
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Address: 1316 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2433
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $219 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks south of where the Colorado River runs through downtown Austin. Originally built in 1939 as an "ultramodern motor court," the San Jose has since been transformed into a secluded urban bungalow-style hotel in the heart of one of the city's most beloved neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Austin
Hotel San Jose Austin
San Jose Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing