We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Jose
Ranked #75 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in good location”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel bursts character, much like the city of Austin itself. The rooms are full of little touches, from the free bottled rainwater to the high quality hand wash. The artwork is also funky and modern. The reception staff were very helpful and full of good suggestions on where to go. We had a petite suite but didn't really use the couch. The floor is cement and freezing in winter. One suggestion would be for the hotel to provide slippers. The coffee place next door called Jo's is highly recommended and there is jazz in the car park on Sundays. The famous Continental Club is opposite and good shopping up and down the strip near the hotel. Make sure you grab a burger at Hopdoddy's a few doors up. One of the best I've ever had, despite the queue. Overall, a great experience. Highly recommended even if a little noisy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    96
    38
    16
    18
See reviews for
27
140
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. It's a very small hotel so you'll be lucky to get a room during sxsw but if you are visiting Austin during a normal week you will enjoy the laid back atmosphere of South Congress.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHKramerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I only stayed for a night, but instantly loved both the hotel itself and the surrounding area. The rooms are simple and modern, but have all the amenities you could want/need. The Malin + Goetz bath products are the icing on the cake. The hotel is set up with a focus on the outdoor spaces - the rooms are all set off of shared patios and balconies, and the restaurant is in an outside courtyard. The location is ideal, smack in the middle of the fun South Congress strip with dozens of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent 2 weeks travelling around Texas and this was by far our favourite hotel (even more than the 5 star places in Dallas and Houston). We were a little worried the San Jose might be a bit too "hipstery" for us but it was perfect. The guy at the front desk was charming and friendly throughout and immediately dispelled any worries we might have had about not being trendy enough to stay. I booked through Mr and Mrs Smith and I though the price was very reasonable for the location.

We had room 23 which was close-ish to the courtyard but set back from Congress so although there was a bit of noise from the courtyard at night we slept really well. The bed was relatively small for a US hotel but super comfy and I lovely the minimalist decor and gorgeous bedspread and robes. The bathroom was a great size and as many have mentioned the M&G toilettries were fab. I loved that we could buy all the various things from the room at reception if we wanted.

We got some great recommndations from the front desk for places to eat on S Congress- we LOVED Gueros - and spent an excessive amount of time at Jo's next door and Amy's ice creams opposite.

Parking was so easy as well and there were loads of spaces. The sign for the hotel is hidden amonst the Ivy so it was a bit tricky to spot at first but it's literally right next to Jos which you can't miss. We were a short drive from Barton Creek and from the swimming pool which we loved and we walked into town and up to the university one day. It was a longish walk but with plenty to see and we felt safe walking back late at night.

Anyway, we had a superb time. I can't recommned the hotel enough. Maybe if you like super luxurious type places then this wouldn't be right for you but it is quirky, comfy and fun and as someone else has written, was basically "Austin in hotel form".

Room Tip: Room 23 was good for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This has become our favorite spot for a getaway weekend. Love the rooms, the breakfast, the service and the ambiance! The grounds are also amazing!! It's location is perfect as you can enjoy south congress and all it has to offer right outside your room!
Have stayed three times in 6 months and want to go back again soonest!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

After living in Houston for two years we finally went on the weekend trip to Austin. The location is so close to anything you could be looking for on a visit to Austin. Great area for walking to shopping, restaurants, bars/nightlife. Not to mention the atmosphere. Staff was helpful and friendly, service was amazing and the room service menu had the food to match. While the price point is high, it was more then worth it and can't wait for another visit!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jehnna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel four or five times over the last several years. This time I returned with my boyfriend. It was his first time in Austin and the hotel definitely had enough character and charm, as well as an excellent location, to give him a good taste of Austin. The hotel is very clean and I love the Austin-y decor. I also really enjoyed the wine/beer area and outdoor "patio" seating, the bed was super comfortable too. However, Hotel San Jose-and I am reluctant to say anything negative- but for over 300 a night, I guess my expectations are a little higher and I think there are a few things you could do to be warmer and more welcoming. For instance, what about giving your repeat guests a bit of a discount or something a little special to let them know they are appreciated? Our room was also located right on the street which was noisy...so the price seemed a bit high. (I live in Chicago, so I'm used to the noise, but I think it would have been helpful if I had been told this when I booked the room) Despite all of this, Hotel San Jose is a great place to say if you want to share Austin with someone you love-just be ready to spend a bit extra.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room! Rooms on Congress Avenue are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CowgirlInChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#20 of 203 in Austin
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austin Motel
Austin Motel
#84 of 203 in Austin
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Property: Hotel San Jose
Address: 1316 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks south of where the Colorado River runs through downtown Austin. Originally built in 1939 as an "ultramodern motor court," the San Jose has since been transformed into a secluded urban bungalow-style hotel in the heart of one of the city's most beloved neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Austin
Hotel San Jose Austin
San Jose Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing