We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Jose
Ranked #75 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Amazing staff and wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It doesnt get better than this in Austin! Great staff, clean rooms, and fun times on South Congress in Austin. Was here for SXSW and really got to experience what Austin is all about staying here. They even had their own showcase, SXSJ, which probably one of the highlights of the festival.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan H, General Manager at Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Jay,
we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again son.
All the best,
Meghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    96
    38
    16
    18
See reviews for
27
140
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Del Rio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Overpriced. Rude staff...at every turn! We stayed there expecting cool Austin+ experience - we got a slap in the face & the pocket book!!!!
When we checked out we stood in line behind a young woman needing a different room due to the infestation of bugs!
In the bar, our 'WAITRESS" referred to her other guests as alcoholics.
Never got the internet to work and when called the front desk were told "yeh, we rebooted, must be some other problem", and there you go! Zero helpfulness. They also modify their price by the week !!! Go to somewhere with care & quality. Anyone who loves this place, may be one of the waitress's alcoholic customers!
The staff are arrogant. If you've got this kind of money go to the 4 Seasons, Driskill.....we should have....any place will serve you better and there are many other wonderful places in Austin that are more quaint and yet friendly!!! Then just enjoy Austin but forget this place!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel! They held a marching band concert in the parking lot while we were there. Enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sanjo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan H, General Manager at Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sanjo R –

I am so very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. In no way is this the level of service we aim for at the Hotel San Jose and we take this feedback very seriously.

Some things I’d like to explain: we did experience an issue with termites during your stay and remedied them quickly. I agree; we certainly could've done a better job assisting you with parking during the fundraising event we hosted in the parking lot for HONK TX and in response to the comment you heard from our lounge staff we then used this information to conduct a customer service training to remind our employees of the importance we place on creating an environment that is positive, helfpul, and friendly.

With all that being said, we are still very concerned about your negative experience and would love an opportunity to discuss it with you in more details so we can address issues with specific staff and use your feedback to insight positive changes in our employees and property.

Sincerely,
Meghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A., CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my second trip to Dallas and second time at the Hotel San Jose. It's unpretentious, well-designed and well located. Great area for walking, eating, etc.

Having stayed at many beautiful hotels all over the world, $500 a night starts to mean certain things. I don't think this hotel justifies those kind of prices.

When we arrived there was live music happening all around the hotel. We couldn't get into the parking lot. We found someone who works at the hotel in an adjacent lot who informed us that he'd get us into their parking lot and let us park there. Thank you for the privilege! Not -"Hey, welcome to Austin! Sorry about all this - let me get you situated". The staff in general seemed pretty distant - except for the gardening and housekeeping staff who were really nice.

Anyway, cool place, great location, too expensive, needs some staff attitude adjustment.

The bed is a full size I believe. Not really big enough for two people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freaquentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan H, General Manager at Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Freaquentflier,

Thank you for your response. I agree with you that rooms can get quite costly in Austin during peak seasons. I'm curious to know what room type you stayed in as all of our rooms have one or two queen sized beds unless you are in our Shared Bathroom room type. We would love the opportunitly to speak with you about your staff experience as well. The more detailed the feedback the best we are able to direct and guide improvements in our service.

Kindest Regards,
Meghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very simply laid out room, great bathroom toiletries, Joe's Cafe next door great for breakfast and overall excellent location on SoCo.

Rates a bit steep, though parking is complimentary.

Had a few drinks in the outdoor bar, good selection.

Staff were a little distant, not unfriendly but a bit too cool for school.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was so beautiful, chic, hip and absolutely the best. I generally don't like staying in hotels because they are so standardized. This one was so unique. There was a poem pinned to the wall in the bathroom. The bathrobes were komonos (and if they were a little bit less expensive I probably would have bought one to take home). The bathroom door was on a track so it rolled open and closed. The water drains outside were chains that ran down into truly beautiful landscaping and gardens. This place was well worth the price for a great hotel experience.

Room Tip: we were in the back....less street noise but it still is downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoatgirlColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife is a spa director of 2 big hotels and I work at a very well known 4 star hotel ( we are experts in the hotel biz :), but we have Never stayed in a hotel that we LOVED more than this one! The pictures do not do it justice. It is an oasis! My wife doesn't even care for the modern look that much but fell in love with the room. We couldnt believe the attention to detail, from the products to the lamps placed perfectly above the beds. It was idyllic and calming and COZY and warm and everything wonderful. Our only issue was that our bed was too firm but that is a preference thing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDG20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went in expecting modern and hip and that is what we got. The website is totally cool. Check in and check out was great. Room service very good; breakfast served in a box. Order the broken egg sandwich. Go to Jo's for coffee; it is awesome. We went for a weekend to listen to great live music across the street at Continental Club and to explore all the food trucks along South Congress. The stores and galleries are totally great too, many open at night. Plan on parking the car and not getting back into it until you check out. Lots to do within walking distance for the weekend. Book early. The only rooms available were suites so we opted for the garden suite. It is about the same price as a standard room at the Four Seasons with a balcony. San Jose offers free wifi and parking. Bring slippers because the floor is concrete.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScreamingMiMi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#20 of 203 in Austin
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austin Motel
Austin Motel
#84 of 203 in Austin
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Property: Hotel San Jose
Address: 1316 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks south of where the Colorado River runs through downtown Austin. Originally built in 1939 as an "ultramodern motor court," the San Jose has since been transformed into a secluded urban bungalow-style hotel in the heart of one of the city's most beloved neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Austin
Hotel San Jose Austin
San Jose Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing