We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy, hip, but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Jose
Ranked #70 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trendy, hip, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The location, on South Congress, is great as it is on the main street of a neighborhood with food trucks, small restaurants, boutiques and vintage clothing stores that surround this old renovated motor court motel. The rooms are on the small side. (We were shown three mini suites before we agreed that the 3rd one might actually be classified as such and said okay) We had room #24 - the original bedroom had been converted into sitting area, and what would have been the carport had been made into a bedroom - with a mini courtyard. It was minimal & "cute". The convenience bar and sundries were as hip as the room, and the music & movie list were brilliant. There was a small room service menu, coffee was available in the court yard early morning and beer and wine there after. Also there was a nice coffee shop - Jo's - that was adjacent. The biggest downer for us was the exessive cigarette smoking. We couldn't sit outside without being surrounded by it, and like I said it was definitely pricey... but well worth the experience.

Room Tip: Room 24 was in the older section and nice. The central area is a newer building. I did not get to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleach2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    96
    38
    15
    17
See reviews for
25
135
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

What a lovely getaway in the middle of busy S. Congress..! This place is cool. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return some day.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I spent a night here while in Austin with friends. The hotel is on South Congress which is great for a few quiet drinks in the amazing city of Austin TX. The room was upstairs and i was immediately impressed with its unusual styling - it's very hip with a very "clean" look which I would expect from a much more expensive hotel. The in-house pool-side bar is also very cool and chilled out and a very good way to start an evening. Would definitively go there again when back in Austin TX.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AV_Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Hotel San Jose offered an interesting mix of hipness and austerity, but above all else, it provided us with a perfect location from which to explore Austin. With plenty of great restaurants and bars within walking distance, we felt right at home in the neighborhood. The interior patio was a great place to relax with a beer or a glass of wine; the local DJ added to the experience on Wednesday night. Rooms are very spare, and the lighting provided for reading in bed is awful, but the amenities (shampoo, lotion, etc.) were elegant. Don't go for luxury, but do go for location; ask for a room away from the street and the patio.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aburke20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My spouse and I booked this hotel just a few hours before we pulled in. This was our first visit to Austin. We based our choice off the yelp and tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. I requested a room away from Congress St. (the Petite Suite). It was a weeknight, but the bar/restaurant was packed when we arrived at 10pm. The noise did not travel and our room was peaceful. This is a refurbished 1930's motor court style motel and each room has a direct entrance from the outdoor path. This was particularly convenient as we were traveling with our dog. Bringing him through the hotel a hotel lobby and elevator can be a task. Also notable was the fact that there was no pet fee - A pleasant surprise for a hotel this nice. The room itself was excellent. Everything was very clean and the layout was nice. Entrance into a sitting area with sofa and chair. The sofa could’ve been used as a twin bed if you removed all of the pillows. Large bathroom with small dresser and walk-in, tiled shower. Amenities were awesome – Malin+Goetz shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. Mini bar was well stocked with mostly local snacks. Bed adjacent to sitting area was comfortable. Desk next to bed was nicely placed in front of the window. Polished concrete floors in living area, penny tile floor in bathroom. The design was very hip and casual. The location seemed very convenient to several bars with bands. I’m not a huge music person, but the area is very hip and eccentric. Lots of food and boutique shopping options within a block or 2. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. I can’t speak to weather this hotel would be appropriate for children. It was however, very comfortable and welcoming for my spouse, our dog and me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripl_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great boutique hotel...makes you feel like you're in a green paradise right of the main strip in SoCo. I can see how it could be noisy if it was an active weekend night. The wine bar was quite expensive, but everything in Austin seems to be pretty high priced. I enjoyed my clean room and very comfortable bed....especially the sheets! Nice pool area. And a dog friendly hotel although I wasn't able to have my dog with me on this trip.

Room Tip: I'd try to get a room on an upper floor and on a corner. The floors are concrete and noise does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roamingretriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed last night not realizing the intensity of the hod rod festival going on. When we made the reservation, we were told hotel parking would be for classic cars only and we would have to park on the street. Fine. But we had no idea of the number of cars and people. Nick, the parking guy was kind enough to give us 30 minutes in the parking lot to take a shower and get ready. However, the front desk was lackadaisical and seemed to think that it was OUR privilege to stay with them. We got ready in the allotted time and Nick directed traffic enough to get us on our way to the burlesque festival (THAT'S another review!). By the time we came back (around 1AM) there was a space on the street in front if the hotel.
The room was cool(important in Austin), clean and welcoming with several personal touches that made it stand out. Lotion, shampoo and conditioner that were earth and people friendly. There was a free bottle of Rainwater (local Austin water) to try. There was a box with everything you might need: sewing kit, first aid and intimacy kits. Simple touches that meant alot to a traveler. There was also a small fridge.
Even though there was alot of noise with the event, our room was quiet and comfy until the morning when there was a constant singing noise that woke me. Pipes?
We wanted to eat breakfast there in the quaint courtyard, but it was not open, so we went to our old standby, Magnolia Cafe. There is room service available as well.
Rooms are tucked into a maze of cement, wood and plants. You feel like you're a kid in a secret place...an Austin jewel if they can warm up a bit. May have been the event wearing on their nerves, but staff need to remember that the customers are why they have jobs....
We will come back for another stay soon. It's pricey, but you're paying for the ambiance, not the amenities.
Furnishings are very simple, but they have everything you need.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmendeznp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Congress Hotel
#29 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#20 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#43 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
South Austin
Kimber Modern Hotel
Kimber Modern Hotel
#2 of 36 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Property: Hotel San Jose
Address: 1316 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks south of where the Colorado River runs through downtown Austin. Originally built in 1939 as an "ultramodern motor court," the San Jose has since been transformed into a secluded urban bungalow-style hotel in the heart of one of the city's most beloved neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Austin
Hotel San Jose Austin
San Jose Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing