We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood on SoCo”

Perla's Seafood and Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Perla's Seafood and Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gibson
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Seafood on SoCo”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went to Perla's on a Saturday afternoon with a buddy. Shrimp cocktail was excellent, with fresh jumbo shrimp and hand made cocktail sauce, fried oysters and Manhattan Clam Chowder soup. The soup was the best red-sauce chowder soup I've had as the clams were truly in the soup - they were still in the shell, so I'd say fresh and authentic. Very very good. The atmosphere is friendly, professional, open and not blaring loud music. I'd go again, maybe for dinner next time.
They have outdoor seating as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    189
    65
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
419 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome service!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We came here on Saturday night and were seated outside right away... and our waiter Robert was very pleasant and prompt.

The fried calamary was excellent and was the ceviche.

Our entrees were delicious too... the red snapper and the loup de mer... flavorful and yummy.

This restaurant was certainly was worth the trip from our hotel in San Marcos.

I highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Can't get fresher than this!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Whenever we are in Austin we make it a point to visit Perlas. The oysters are very fresh and there is always a good variety available. Order them with a side of fries and a Perlas margarita. The tuna tartare is equally fresh and amazing. We usually sit at the bar but outside seating is also nice. The crab Louie with the fried green tomatoes is also great. The Saturday brunch menu is great too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Oysters!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A business associate and I ordered oysters on the half shell. We tried three different varieties of oysters 4 of each ; Shiney Seas, Caribou, and Shigoku. It was fun to taste the difference. I am always amazed by the flavor differences and these were no disappointment. Entrees of Halibut cheeks and Halibut collar were excellent. Good service, great food! Great place for business, dates, and or romantic dinners. A little noisy but the festive atmosphere and energy make up for the hustle and bustle of staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location, but the food is average to good and overpriced even for Austin. Raw oysters were $32 a dozen and average size. Cheeseburger was $15. To many other good restaurants on Congress St.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Perla's Seafood and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing