We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my daughter's choice..........”

Perla's Seafood and Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Perla's Seafood and Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Gibson
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“my daughter's choice..........”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We took our college graduate, our family, and some of her friends to dinner at Perla's.
First problem is parking......second was no reservations even with a party of 10.
With both of those handled we sat down to eat. Service was fine, food was good the bill was uber expensive.....

If you don't mind the expense, go ahead....My halibut was OK and everyone else seemed to enjoy their meal as well. Not sure I would make a special trip to Austin to go back but I might tag along if I were in town and someone else was picking up the tab this time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    193
    67
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Overall it's the best seafood we've ever had and we eat seafood a lot”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Rainy afternoon outside w fabulous food, service and atmosphere inside
Great experience
Followed servers advice for two shared appetizers of clams and cockles! and grilled ell then main course of the very best snapper ever over spinach and tomato sauce w a side of cold green beans covered in white anchovy vinaigrette
High price and high quality in every way

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Borroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Sage Martinis”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was an enjoyable after theater tasty treat. The seafood was good, the drinks great, and the outdoor seating perfectly pleasant. They have a wide variety of oysters and you can't go wrong with anything 'raw'. On our next visit, we would skip anything breaded. There will be a return visit in our future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but very expensive”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to Perlas on a Friday night with a party of 4. The ambiance is great, with staff in vineyard vines, bright yellow booths, oyster shell chandeliers and excellent service.

We ordered hush puppies, Mac n cheese, and the grits as sides. We could've done without the grits, they weren't that great. The Mac n cheese was delicious though. We also got a lobster bisque which was flavored with something sweet which made it undesirable to us.

We ordered the halibut and crispy snapper. Both were phenomenal.
We also got a dozen oysters which were delicious.

I would recommend reservations. It gets packed.

Only downside is price. Expect to pay $85 per person with two drinks per person. We felt it was a bit overpriced for portion size. At Eddie vs you get similar quality for the same price, but twice or three times the portion sizes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
“Gotta love Oysters!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I loved the atmosphere (who couldn't love Austin I mean really.) but I was unprepared for such a gourmet moment on Congress Ave. The variety of choices for oysters on the half shell are phenomenal! Loved the eclectic ambience as well. The waiter was cute and equally eclectic. Pricing was a little steep but well worth it. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perla's Seafood and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Perla's Seafood and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing