We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Ranked #165 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Midwest
1 review
“Average Stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am from the midwest and was disappointed in the noise level of the location. The room was clean and the water pressure great but was put on the third floor when had made reservations month in advance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank sismidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    160
    197
    148
    200
See reviews for
225
168
87
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATLANTA
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I reserved a King sized room - (there were two of us, and we're both fairly tall - sharing a double isn't ideal). Checked in and was given a double - and told all the kings had been sold already. While not ideal (why make a reservation? if they can't keep it as you reserved it?) we made the best. two nights of sharing a cramped double bed was not that fun. The rooms were cleanish - I saw lots of room for improvement - housekeeps hairs were everywhere - on the towels, on the doors etc. Even for the price I expected better.

Internet was VERY VERY VERY slow in the room.

The room we received was very very loud - almost like sleeping ON the highway - but that isn't necessarily the hotel's fault.

The plus side was the ease in which we were able to get to downtown, and the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank KEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

GRANBURY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found our room clean (for the most part) and pretty much well-stocked (could have used more coffee). The mattresses were comfortable, but the sheets on one bed are pretty worn. I was highly upset, however to find a curly hair (from ?) sticking out of the tv remote control. Yuck. Also, the people staying next to us, stood right outside their door at 12:30 a.m., smoking and talking loudly. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke until they went inside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank KATHY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SULPHUR
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love staying at this hotel. The rooms are clean and its in a great location. Plus for the price you would pay at a motel 6 you could get a room here that's 10xs better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank CAROL Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidor, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

milli,thank you so much for you making us feel at home ,great service , and great room friendly staff, When we walked in our room was nice and cool not all hot and stuffy. The staff helpful in helping us find our way around charles and diana lichenstein Vidor ,Tx.

Room Tip: i always read reviews... and try and way out good from bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Americas Best Value Inn
#156 of 202 in Austin
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
The Highlander Austin
#123 of 202 in Austin
74 reviews
Hyde Park
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area

Property: Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Address: 5526 North Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing