We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for cheap business travel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Ranked #163 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Needed to save $$. This worked well for business trip. 0.8 miles from convention center (walk down Red River St.) At bus stop. Plenty of inexpensive food on way to convention center. Iron Works on Red River near convention center is great BBQ and cheap. Frig, microwave, wifi, limited breakfast.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms more private.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 849 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

First chose hotel because of convenient location but it turned out to be very hospitable, helpful and informative could not have expected a better experience. Clean rooms great price and value, the staff was super great :) See or ask for Milli!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed 1 week at super 8 and I loved it. My room was cleaned throughout my stay including new bed linins as well. Anything I needed I got. Loved the free wifi and HBO. Also the free perks were awsome, microwave, fridge, free breakfast ect......I would definately stay again. Great low price.

Room Tip: smoking rooms are kind of in a private area which is cool so you don't feel like your offending...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Super 8 motel for a few days and i enjoyed it thoroughly. The rooms are not the nicest looking rooms of course but their employee Milli definitely made up for it with customer service, He is very friendly and superb at his job and made our stay here in Austin a pleasant one :)

Thanks :)

Ana

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is what you would expect for a great low price, and the hotel manager Millie was excellent. The best selling point is that for the low low price wifi was included for free, as was HBO! Also the free breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I'm giving it a 5 rating because I had inadvertently booked a room with smoking on a packed weekend and Milli at the front desk managed to help me out by getting me a nonsmoking room, despite their not having any vacancies available. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place with customer service that strives to be above the industry standard.

Room Tip: Ask for Milli at the front desk. He'll try his best to make it a pleasant stay for you.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I feel like to stay there again.and I will tell my friend about the motel 8 .we came in at 5 pm and check in with a front desk ,he show us a room at 3 rd floor facing freeway.good view . I had the double bed . the room was clean , 32 " flat screen TV with good channel . with that price I think is OK

Room Tip: 3 rd floor is better .
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Budget Inn Capitol
#139 of 201 in Austin
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Highlander Austin
#126 of 201 in Austin
74 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#155 of 201 in Austin
170 reviews
Hyde Park
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area

Address: 5526 North Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $62 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing