We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Ranked #162 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and good value”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The rooms were big, clean and cheap. It was a $15 cab ride into downtown. The only downside was the poor breakfast and bad coffee.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    157
    194
    144
    190
See reviews for
219
162
86
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malakoff, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was a very nice Super 8. Staff is very nice and accommodating. The hot breakfast was really good. The Mexican food restaurant next door was very convenient for dinner, Rooms have refrigerators and irons. The staff was very fast to quieten hotel guest that were laughing and talking outside my room in the middle of the night. The only complaint I have is that the drain in the bathtub did not work. I am defiantly staying here my next trip to the capital!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Kristen Brown great hospitality made my stay pleasant. Because of her, I'd recommend any out of Towner to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamalS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antino
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2012

your employes were very heipful and knowabel of there suraroundings .its nice to be given directions and not get lost ....one person ---kirskn brown recamended places to go and eat;; i give her many thanks it made my stay less stress free

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, N.Y.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Good basic hotel, Good location near The Capitol, Univ. of Texas-Austin.Clean rooms, comfortable bed, efficient housekeeping, and "hands on" Management Team. Good Value
Good breakfast, Room has Coffee maker, Microwave, and Fridge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyDee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have stayed in many super8's.
And this was no different - or was it ?
I cannot say that there were bed bugs, but I can only say that the next day - my arms were completely covered with small blisters, they itched like crazy.
On my hips - the same - and 5-10 blisters on both my legs.
We have stayed in many hotels in the USA, during the last 6 years.
And never never ever, have we experienced this (knock on wood).
We always check the beds, but obviously not good enough this time
Don't expect to visit Austin again, but if we do - we will stay in another hotel.
Reception : Didn't have that "WELCOME" attitude - more like "okay - you're here, so what"...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spunk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake ronkonkoma,ny
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

extremely helpful & knowledgeable staff(EX:kirsten b, milli, etc,etc).... clean, comfortable, safe,plenty of parking,*** descent start-your-day breakfast, internet-room, newly installed flat-screen tv's(did it while we were there in fact) also:
room had microwave,coffeepot,refrig,hairdrier>always a big plus!!......if your looking for 5-star without all the "flare" then this is THEE hotel for you. not fancy but filled the bill!! and was quite reasonable. noise didnt really bother us(me/husband)....if so....request back of hotel! staff would help you with anything & everything.....such a good feeling. know how to treat the their GUESTS!
would definitely recommend this super 8 and would stay again & again if ever in beautiful austin(our first visit to your very lovely city! ***** heads up to super 8, keep UP the good work all of YOU !!!

Room Tip: if dont like noise of highway....then stay in back of hotel or side :)) noise didnt bother us being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raliperti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Americas Best Value Inn
#154 of 203 in Austin
166 reviews
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget Inn Capitol
#135 of 203 in Austin
7 reviews
Hyde Park
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area

Property: Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Address: 5526 North Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing