We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5526 North Interstate Highway 35, Austin, TX 78751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #152 of 195 Hotels in Austin
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The rooms were big, clean and cheap. It was a $15 cab ride into downtown. The only downside was the poor breakfast and bad coffee.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    127
    156
    104
    125
See reviews for
163
122
63
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malakoff, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was a very nice Super 8. Staff is very nice and accommodating. The hot breakfast was really good. The Mexican food restaurant next door was very convenient for dinner, Rooms have refrigerators and irons. The staff was very fast to quieten hotel guest that were laughing and talking outside my room in the middle of the night. The only complaint I have is that the drain in the bathtub did not work. I am defiantly staying here my next trip to the capital!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Kristen Brown great hospitality made my stay pleasant. Because of her, I'd recommend any out of Towner to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antino
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

your employes were very heipful and knowabel of there suraroundings .its nice to be given directions and not get lost ....one person ---kirskn brown recamended places to go and eat;; i give her many thanks it made my stay less stress free

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, N.Y.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Good basic hotel, Good location near The Capitol, Univ. of Texas-Austin.Clean rooms, comfortable bed, efficient housekeeping, and "hands on" Management Team. Good Value
Good breakfast, Room has Coffee maker, Microwave, and Fridge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyDee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have stayed in many super8's.
And this was no different - or was it ?
I cannot say that there were bed bugs, but I can only say that the next day - my arms were completely covered with small blisters, they itched like crazy.
On my hips - the same - and 5-10 blisters on both my legs.
We have stayed in many hotels in the USA, during the last 6 years.
And never never ever, have we experienced this (knock on wood).
We always check the beds, but obviously not good enough this time
Don't expect to visit Austin again, but if we do - we will stay in another hotel.
Reception : Didn't have that "WELCOME" attitude - more like "okay - you're here, so what"...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spunk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake ronkonkoma,ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

extremely helpful & knowledgeable staff(EX:kirsten b, milli, etc,etc).... clean, comfortable, safe,plenty of parking,*** descent start-your-day breakfast, internet-room, newly installed flat-screen tv's(did it while we were there in fact) also:
room had microwave,coffeepot,refrig,hairdrier>always a big plus!!......if your looking for 5-star without all the "flare" then this is THEE hotel for you. not fancy but filled the bill!! and was quite reasonable. noise didnt really bother us(me/husband)....if so....request back of hotel! staff would help you with anything & everything.....such a good feeling. know how to treat the their GUESTS!
would definitely recommend this super 8 and would stay again & again if ever in beautiful austin(our first visit to your very lovely city! ***** heads up to super 8, keep UP the good work all of YOU !!!

Room Tip: if dont like noise of highway....then stay in back of hotel or side :)) noise didnt bother us being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raliperti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Americas Best Value Inn
#144 of 195 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Hyde Park
Ramada Austin Central
Ramada Austin Central
#105 of 195 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyde Park
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area

Property: Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Address: 5526 North Interstate Highway 35, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 195 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super Eight
Austin Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing