We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good People and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Ranked #165 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Ames
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good People and Great Value”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Rooms with micro and fridge ........worked great and just friendly and kind people who look for ways to help you.

Milli is a great mgr with a calm demeanor and responded to any and all needs or requests.

People like Kirsten were just kind and made the stay here better than I expected.

For the price and location this has to be one of Austins best values in hotel stays

Great little breakfast with eggs and sausage among cereals and rolls made this stay even better.

Room Tip: I would recommend the top floor but any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    159
    196
    148
    200
See reviews for
225
165
87
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I have to say that the service I received was absolutely wonderful! Andrea and Joe at the front desk deserve to be recognized for their "job well done!!" It was definitely a welcome experience to walk through the doors and be greeted in comparison to the treatment that I received at another local motel. I made the decision to change hotels and I am SO glad I did!! In addition the rooms were extremely nice and comfortable!!

I will be back!!
Carol Loza

Room Tip: The only advice I can actually give is to ask...the front desk personel were helpful in every other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The room was was excellent the service was out of this world Kristin was awesome!!! We will Stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo'Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The room was excellent. The service was outstanding. Kristin went above and beyond. We will stay here again and we recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

If you don't mind doing a bit of walking, Super 8 Downtown is probably one of the best values for the money. Located at 12th street and I-35 the property is only a short walk to the state capitol building, downtown (6th street) and the University of Texas main campus.
Easy access to I-35 in both north and south directions.
There is no restaurant on site but the motel offers free breakfast. There is a Denny's and CVS very nearby.
Front desk staff was friendly and helpful but seemed stressed by the high volume of business on a weekend with a home football game at the university. I had a difficult time trying to get a minor tv remote issue resolved.
Room was comfortable and clean, with fridge and microwave but the noise from outside and from adjoining rooms was fairly constant and audible.
If you are staying over a weekend be warned that there is a night club across the street that plays very loud music well past midnight. Loud enough to cause vibrations in the room. The front desk received many complaints about this problem.
This is not a fancy place but for the price and location it is an excellent deal. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the north side of the property. That is as far away as you can get from the noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank secled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperbService, Owner at Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We appreciate the review but our motel is NOT located at 12th street. You can find our property 3 minutes north of downtown Austin at 5526 North IH-35 which is exit #238A if you're driving north on IH-35.

We are the only "2 and a half star" Super 8 on IH-35 and our weekend rates start at $69.99...come enjoy our Super Destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Super Eight University & Downtown Austin TX Was great. They went out of their way to help me make my stay in Austin enjoy. They where very helpful getting me situated in the hotel & help make my stay comfortable. The Price was great too. Thank

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The taxi driver was a little scathing so when checking in I was a little bit nervous. There was no need to be. Right from the friendly check in to the end of the stay this was a good experience.

OK so it's not the Ritz but it is excellent value. The location is pretty good and it was an easy walk to the Capitol and not far from both 6th street and the university.

The room was comfortable and a good size. It even had a microwave and coffee maker. It was all clean and tidy and, despite being on a major highway, quiet. Breakfast was basic but there was coffee and a waffle maker so it did the job nicely.and was included in the room rate.



The price and the value is exceptional and had

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Americas Best Value Inn
#156 of 202 in Austin
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
The Highlander Austin
#123 of 202 in Austin
74 reviews
Hyde Park
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area

Property: Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Address: 5526 North Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin/University/Downtown Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing