We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine collection, very good temporary exhibit”

The Blanton Museum of Art
Ranked #31 of 322 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This university art museum has a spectacular collection of 20th century American masters and the United State's largest collection of Latin American art.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fine collection, very good temporary exhibit”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Blanton has a decent collection on display, and a very friendly "go-to" docent approached and offered to explain the research she'd done on a couple of paintings, which truly enhanced my viewing -- although I can aesthetically appreciate a well-executed Dutch still life, she gave me the historical and cultural context. I thought the temporary exhibit, Arts of the Ancient Andes, was outstanding (it's up till Aug. 17, 2014). I also enjoyed the American -- US and Latin -- modern and contemporary collection.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank springbyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    120
    49
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
414 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great building with lovely views”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The art was sparse and didn't provide a full survey of art history but the installation in the atrium is gorgeous, as are the views from the upper floor of the city.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
277 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent almost three hours in this museum. We started our visit at the special Augsburg, Germany exhibit. Since we had visited Augsburg, we found this exhibit to be delightful and very informative. The exhibit contained a collection of prints and woodcuts that depicted the history of Augsburg. The collection came from the National Gallery in Washington, DC.
Next we visited the Renaissance and Baroque paintings which were part Suida-Manning Collection which had been purchased by the University. This is a collection of many Renaissance and Baroque paintings. A very special, colorful touch was the roving docent. She gave us extensive information on how the Suida-Manning collection came to Texas. In addition, she told us the history and/or significance of two of the paintings. Also of interest is the exhibit of the restoration of old paintings. Our visit was definitely worth the time we spent there. We visited on Thursday; therefore, admission was free. We parked in the adjacent garage and the fee was minimal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiJo4145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Worth your time”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I went here on a recent visit to Austin. No, it is not the largest art museum in the world or the most comprehensive, but for a small university museum, I rather enjoyed it. Nice traveling exhibit on the first floor (Waltercio Caldas), which was stimulating. Permanent exhibits were well presented and provided many interesting pieces. Their exhibit on restoration made you realize that while small, this is not a museum with a small mind set. I went on a Saturday afternoon and found it to be quiet and uncrowded. Nice way to spend a couple hours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BLDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprising Art collection in Austin”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Always something interesting to see at the Blanton. Nice way to spend an afternoon in Austin. Calm, peaceful, sublime entertainment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank poserunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blanton Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing