We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds”

Texas State Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Austin and Texas Hill Country
Ranked #19 of 325 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Some of Texas' most prominent historical figures are buried in this cemetery.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I am the kind of person that LOVES cemeteries, and I love to read different head stones. This is one of the most beautiful ones I have been too, with the rolling landscape and the tress. At this cemetery you will find Texas greats like Stephan F Austin, Darrell K Royal and many others. At this cemetery they also have the Confederate field which is just awe inspiring. The one thing that brought me to tears was the two steel beams from the World Trade Center, it really brings everything back and it is hard to keep emotions under control. But I recommend this cemetery for quiet reflection.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krystalyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    57
    15
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A peaceful stroll”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This place is located 3-5 minutes by car, 15-20 minutes by foot, away from the Capital Building.

It is a wonderfully peaceful place, with beautifully kept scenery and well kept. Many historical figures are buried here, along with many head figures from not only the Texas government, but from the University, also.

I recommend coming here early in the morning, when it's cool and the city is coming to life. Grab a cup of coffee and stroll around, taking in all of the once living people and their history.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
“Texas State Cemetery”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

You can reach it easily from downtown. It is a manageable size to walk its entire area. It is quiet and beautiful and historical. Individuals of importance to Texas are buried there - John Connally, Barbara Jordan, Stephen Austin - Revolutionary War veterans and a Civil War section. We visited on Veterans Day. The office were closed that day as was the bathroom.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HKC187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Gem in the rough.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The TX state cemetery is close to downtown, but once you are there you'd never know it. The grounds are beautiful. There are several monuments to various wars that tell stories. Famous people from Texas's history are buried here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alot of history in one place”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Myself and my wife went to Austin for a couple of days. My wife likes museums but opted for the cemetery. It was a great choice. I am not much if a history buff but this was interesting. They had two scrap i-beams from the world trade center that was a pretty monument, Darrell Royal's grave site and many war heros from 1851 forward. The grounds were kept in perfect condition, also it is free. I would recommend this to family and friends. Excellent

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas State Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Texas State Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing