We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare museum”

Elisabet Ney Museum
Ranked #67 of 317 things to do in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sculptor Elisabeth Ney spent the last years of her life working in this building, which still contains some of her most beautiful sculpted pieces.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A rare museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is the home and studio of a unique sculptor who was also a unique woman. It's interesting, although not spectacular. It was a home to live in and a studio to work in. It's only a couple of miles north of the UT campus.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bennett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The restoration is fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have been going there since forever, and it is MUCH improved!!! so wonderful that they did save the place. They are restoring the grounds now, as well. the tour guide was excellent. I reccommend that anyone who would like to learn about an exceptionally interesting person and her eccentric home should check it out!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank walksrocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great sculptural museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great history here. Very Austin. Well done and interesting. Even folks who aren't normally interested in "art museums" seem to enjoy it. My 2 year old granddaughter even enjoyed it. Good teaching time!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kayakutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Interesting off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Be sure to get an in-person tour. This woman was far beyond her time.

Helpful?
5 Thank living&learnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I am so happy I decided to make a visit to this museum--it was my favorite thing I did in Austin.

The museum is in Elisabet Ney's studio, which is surrounded by wildflowers. The building is beautiful and intimate, and it's a rare experience to walk around creaky wooden floors surrounded by such extraordinary sculptures.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank alyssabyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elisabet Ney Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing