We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Unique But Staff Was "Bothered"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saint Cecilia
Ranked #70 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Loved the architecture, decor, and every detail the owners implemented. However, the staff was a bit icy and acted like they were above it all.

Would maybe give it a second chance...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephinerules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 139 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2009

Rarely do you come across a hotel that is worth every penny, The St. Cecillia is an expereince that is not to be missed. The staff is excellent when you leave you will feel as if you too are from Austin...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyitsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

As a long-time Hotel San Jose guest (20 or so stays), I thought I'd give its sister hotel, the Saint Cecilia, a try. I arrived with high expectations, and not only were they met, but I was truly blown away by how incredible this place is. I love hotels that are not only luxurious, beautiful, and comfortable, but also that have some personality and reflect their surroundings (whether it be a neighborhood or a city). Using this criteria, I found the SC to be perfection.

What is there to like? Gorgeous, quiet, park-like grounds. An amazing old, restored home mixed with newer contemporary structures. Katie's warm welcome and flawless staff service from start to finish. Unique interior design that is both luxurious and fun at the same time. High-speed internet, iPod sound systems, and even a turntable with vinyl records available to use in each room. Fabulous linens and mattresses. A beautiful pool and outdoor areas for relaxation. The gorgeous bar area (though watch out for the drink prices). Amazing Downtown views from Room 8. Having a number of fabulous restaurants and shops within a few minutes' walk of the hotel. The small size that ensures it'll never feel crowded. I could go on and on.

Austin has always been my favorite quick getaway from Dallas. It's a fabulous city with a ton to offer and the Hotel Saint Cecilia is the perfect spot from which to enjoy it --- if you can tear yourself away from the hotel to explore, which will be difficult. The hotel is a destination in itself and I cannot wait to go back. Liz Lambert has created a masterpiece.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lagunadallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Stayed in suite #1

Reasons to love it: Hastens bed, large photo of Keith Richards circa 1969 in white jumpsuit, turntable and Liz's record collection, HUGE bathrub, outdoor bamboo grove shower, delicious crepes for breakfast.

The hotel creates a rockstar experience, wrapped in an original and highly curated design aesthetic, catered by an over-the-top friendly staff.

Top 5 hotels all time.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justinha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We splurged on this hotel, which was about twice what I like to pay for a room. It was worth every penny. It's immaculately clean, fun, classy and friendly, quiet yet close to the fun strip of bars and restaurants. The location really can't be beat. Other reviewers mentioned the crepes - know that the crepes cost $35/person so we didn't splurge on those. This is my first tripadvisor posting but I wanted to give this hotel a shout out because it was awesome! Austin was great, too - I hope to be back to both Austin and the St. Cecilia.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnyday101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

From the time I called to book my stay to the time I checked out, the experience was, well... excellent! Wine and a hand written note from the manager welcoming me, vinyl collection and phonograph, hard wood floors, outstanding mini bar selections (I had flat bread and brie), amazing courtyard, they even found me a power supply for my Mac to borrow for a couple of hours (I think it was one of the employee's). Just awesome.

I will never stay anywhere else when I am in Austin. This place was truly a treat.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank johnseif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

I am new to this process...but I wanted to share how great this new hotel in Austin is. We stayed in this historic mansion that has been beautifully restored with a rock 'n roll edge. Wine at check-in, crepes for breakfast, and the most relaxing grounds imaginable.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastalbackandforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hotel San Jose
#69 of 201 in Austin
375 reviews
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,226 reviews
South Congress Hotel
#17 of 201 in Austin
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Austin
#20 of 201 in Austin
1,226 reviews
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#45 of 201 in Austin
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Cecilia

Address: 112 Academy Dr, Austin, TX 78704-1852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $374 - $884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Cecilia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint Cecilia is a secluded luxury hotel in the heart of Austin's South Congress District. The 14 room property, situated on an 1880 estate, is a tribute to rock and roll opulence and royal elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Cecilia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing