We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and Serenity in a Wonderful City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Saint Cecilia
Ranked #70 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Style and Serenity in a Wonderful City”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

After a decade of relatively regular business travel, rarely does a Monday airport check-in come that I’m not already longing to land back home. But something happened this past week that hasn’t happened in recent memory: I was in no rush to leave my hotel. In fact, after a few cocktails on the patio of my poolside bungalow, I was doing sloppy mathematical calculations about how long I could live at the Hotel Saint Cecilia if I liquidated all of my assets.

But let’s rewind a little. In response to a last minute production, I was searching for a home base for my team for the week. I contacted several properties in Austin and got the same general, unenthusiastic, disinterested response. Merely out of curiosity, I contacted the Hotel Saint Cecilia even though I was doubtful we could get in at the last minute. They were by far the most helpful and quickly rose to the challenge calling me back within a half hour with an agreeable solution. That’s service.

From the moment we were buzzed in to the parking area, I was hooked. Tranquil, stylish, the perfect size – and I didn’t even know that there was such thing as an ideal hotel size. Eric from the front desk came to greet us. He’s terrific, personable, never without a smile. As we walked toward the front desk area through the grounds, I could feel myself melt in to a happy and relaxed state of mind. There are stunning trees, many places to sit and relax – even the color palate of the buildings and the natural surroundings seemed to somehow be coordinated. I was shown to my room and I think, as the door was opened, I might have laughed out loud (in a good way). Nelson benches, a turntable, a beautiful chandelier…and that was only the living room. The bedroom was a peaceful and stylish room enveloped by trees out the many windows that made it feel private and like I was in the world’s most stylish treehouse. The bathroom was larger than my college dorm room.

As far as the nuts-and-bolts go, the bed was insanely comfortable. The towels smelled so good I kept holding them up to my face (yes, I realize that’s weird). The soaps and shampoos were delightful. The morning coffee was lovely. The pool was clean and inviting. My room was quiet for sleep, alive with classic vinyl on my record player in the morning as I read the paper on my (large) patio. Jenne, Eric, Lynne – the entire team that manages the property are professional, personable, and committed to making the stay a memorable one. Personally, I found the items for sale in the room and front desk area a normal practice for high-end boutique hotels and not obnoxious at all. I actually thought they had some really cool items at the front desk.

I can’t emphasize enough the transformative vibe that happens after a stressful day when you enter the courtyard of the Hotel Saint Cecilia. Grab a drink and sit outside of their café. Or take it to your room and melt into the hip, comfortable energy. Either way, I’m pretty confident you’ll not want to leave.

Room Tip: The poolside bungalows are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuckInStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    31
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
69
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here last month and loved it. From the moment you check in you know that you've arrived somewhere extraordinary. Grab your room key and a collection of your favorite LPs to play on the record player in your room that's hooked to a sound cube. Settle in to your room and you'll see that the sophisticated whimsy that greeted you at checkin was just the beginning. Also make sure to enjoy some snacks or a cocktail at the lounge and if you have friends in town be kind and invite them to join as it's nothing on the grounds is open to the public. The grounds are quiet and stylish, it's the perfect stylish hideout just outside of the bustle of South Congress.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Lots of cool factor, sure. But all sizzle and no steak. Rooms were lovely but, not luxurious. For $500, here is what you don't get -- assistance with baggage, an iron in your room or even a bottle of water on a hot day. (You get nickel-and-dimed for $9 on top of your $500 for the h2o.) The entire room was an obnoxious display for upsells -- buy the soap! buy the liquor! buy the cookies! Love Austin and love this location but, take the Hotel San Jose for half the cost.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SecretaryofTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Due to my job, I'm a heavy traveler, and I spend about 50 nights per year in a hotel. I typically stay in Westin's or W's or Sheratons and occasionally a Hilton or Marriott. So when I read reviews claiming the St Cecilia is so special, I was a bit skeptical. Nonetheless, I canceled my reservation at the Austin W and decided to spend a night at St. Cecilia. Now, I'm a believer. What a special hotel the St Cecelia is. The grounds are gorgeous, the room filled with one of a kind pieces (and of course a stereo and turntable like every room at the St. C), and the pool is so cool. We also loved the bar and the service, across the board, was superb.

With the corporate discount I typically get, the St C costs 2x to 3x depending on the room. But for a really special stay, this hotel is really the only choice. The difference is in the details - and the St C nails it.

I'm checking my calendar now for a visit in the fall. My new home away from home in Austin.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is my 3rd time staying at Hotel Saint Cecilia and I am here to tell you this is one of the coolest hotels in the country. It is so stylish without being pretentious.

We stayed in a room near the pool and it was nothing short of amazing- good sized with our own private patio and firepit. The service has always been amazing and personalized and this visit was no different. We enjoyed everything about our visit- from wine in the courtyard to just lazing about in the room listening to records. It was THE PERFECT getaway. The hotel is expensive but it's worth it and the location is great as you can just walk to South Congress. My only suggestion is the lighting- the rooms can be a bit dark- I am all for ambiance but it needs a little more light.

I am looking forward to the next time we can go back to Saint Cecilia!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I booked a pool room for two nights recently based on the lovely pictures on the website. Now, as I have seen before, many hotel chains usually show their best rooms to sell the category, but, this really was a bit of a misrepresentation. The room looked bright, full of windows with views of the gardens. So, imagine my shock when I was ushered into a dark basement room with a view so bad they had all the shades drawn!(the view was of a tiny patio and a fence.) The lighting was very dark as well. So dark I could barely see myself in the bathroom mirror!! It seems they use either 25 or 40 watt bulbs in there and there are just prison slits for windows. I asked the person checking us in if there was anything else available as this was really unacceptable and was abruptly dismissed as there was nothing. The a/c went on and off all night and was so loud it kept me up most of it. There are mini bars in both the living room and bath loaded with overpriced amenities many in packages ragged from guests looking at them and putting them back. Room service is delivered by a waiter who hand the tray to you at the door and says, "here you go!" And, the "free" wi-fi doesn't work in this basement because the signal is too weak. Not once was my dissatisfaction addressed by any hotel employee, but, instead all chose to hide from me in a small office behind the front desk. They even followed up with a complimentary note hoping I enjoyed my stay. Sleeping in a musty smelling noisy basement for two nights in Austin, TX for a thousand bucks??? What do you think. Stay away from room "13"!

Room Tip: Stay away from room 13 and make sure you call them in advance and get a room that is in their web br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tinkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I travel a lot and this hotel is one of the stranger ones in which I have stayed and while expensive, not an easy room to live in.

We were there as part of a wedding party, so we saw many other rooms and spoke to other guests about their rooms. Everyone complained that their room did not have enough light. I'm talking so dark that when I dropped the car keys on the couch in my room after dark, I thought I was going to have to find a flashlight to get them. I finally found them by feel.

Almost all the flat space in our room was devoted to selling very expensive things. Most hotels in this price range offer free "disposable" slippers. The Hotel Saint Cecilia has very odd black felt slippers in the closet with a note that if you break the string, you have purchased them for an outrageous sum. In the bathroom there are just the basic toiletries (shampoo, creme rinse, shower gel, and lotion), but there is a huge medicine chest with high priced goodies like a $10 toothbrush and an $8 chapstick. Condoms were for sale, but I don't remember the price. Another large counter in the bedroom is filled with mini bar items including a box of pornographic tapes. The commercialism went way too far in my opinion.

The closets are too short to accommodate dresses, which creates problems for guests at weddings.

The plumbing is problematical. In our room the water seemed to be a single temperature no matter how you set it. The guests next door said that the first night they did not shower, because they could not get hot water.

The service ranged from very accommodating to non-existant. We recieve lots of assistance with problems we reported with the room immediately after our arrival, but when we tried to check-out , they could not produce the final bill and offered to mail it to us later. On the night of the wedding the room was not straightened up and the service was limited to dropping the room service breakfast menu on my rumpled pillow.

The best things about the hotel are its lovely grounds (which is why people like it for weddings) and the fancy mattresses. The front desk said they are Swedish horsehair mattresses that sell for $15,000 to $30,000 depending on the room.

Room Tip: It is ok if you have money to burn and all you care about is the bed and the location. My understan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EveSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hotel San Jose
#76 of 203 in Austin
363 reviews
South Congress Hotel
#20 of 203 in Austin
265 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#39 of 203 in Austin
360 reviews
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Cecilia

Property: Hotel Saint Cecilia
Address: 112 Academy Dr, Austin, TX 78704-1852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Cecilia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint Cecilia is a secluded luxury hotel in the heart of Austin's South Congress District. The 14 room property, situated on an 1880 estate, is a tribute to rock and roll opulence and royal elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Saint Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Cecilia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing