We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying at a rich relative's house without actually having to see them.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimber Modern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like staying at a rich relative's house without actually having to see them.”
Reviewed December 7, 2009

It would be very difficult to find negative points to this pad. My wife and I wanted a weekend getaway and we were very happy. You are totally on your own here and can come and go as you please without any difficulties at all. Kimber was extremely clean and had top notch amenities and necessities. Kimber Modern's overall architecture and interior design is simple yet impactful. The walk-in shower is something to fall in love with. Simply stated you know you're staying at a place the owner wants you to feel you're being well taken care of.
For my wife and I, the location was one of the best parts of the trip. You're just a short walking distance from all the food, shopping, entertaining, and people watching you could want. At Kimber, you're arguably in the best and most entertaining part of Austin. I only hope this place doesn't get so popular and busy that I'm never able to book a room again. That would really hurt my wife!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    23
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
180
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rome
2 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2009

A beautiful, modern, hip, butique hotel. Ones of the most exclusive and at the time cosy hotels I've ever seen. An experience you have to do ones in your time.
Unique design and atmosphere, super comfortable beds, very quiet and relaxing.
The stuff and the owners are very friendly. You could feel you were at home.
The location is perfect. South Congress is one of the hippiest streets in Austin.
We couldn't have expected any better.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianafonzicruciani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Wonderfully appointed accommodations with everything you could possibly need, and nothing you don't. Hidden off of a side street within walking distance to some of Austin's hottest venues and eateries.

Well-appointed rooms with comfy beds, luxurious shower and cozy robes. Amazing lounge with make-your-own espresso machine and fresh continental breakfast.

Would be wonderful for couples. Feels like a modern bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candrewsKnoxville_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2009

This is a really cool hotel!! its very modern but, yet, very comfortable. The location is incredible as it is right in the middle of great nightlife and restaurants on South Congress in Austin. There are incredible restaurants and live music right across the street from the hotel. I only stayed one night, but wish I had spent the weekend there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallashotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

The Kimber Modern does, in fact, live up to its billing. I give it three stars for value only because . . . well, it really is hard for me to rationalize $300 for any hotel room. But if cost were the deciding factor we'd choose to stay at random, budget hotel chains. Instead, we prefer the unique experiences of boutique establishments. The Kimber is unique.

My wife and I spent two nights in one of the standard rooms that overlooks the street. The space is calm and serene. That goes for the room, the courtyard and the common room. Every tiny detail of the Kimber is a well-planned piece of the overall modern aesthetic. Very impressive. In fact, this is a modern building - not just a modern-looking building. From top to bottom. And in this case, the modern aesthetic did not take a back seat to comfort. The bed is very comfortable - and that's a big factor for us. The courtyard and the common room were great spaces to relax with a glass of wine in the evening, and start the day with coffee in the morning. We were blessed with perfect weather, too.

The only minor drawback is that, because the room faced the street, we were subject to some noise from the backyard of the bar across the street. But that quickly ended at 10:00 p.m. (We had a long day and retired early on Saturday.) There must be a noise ordinance. There was no street noise. No traffic noise. All in all, the room really was quiet. The location itself is a tiny street just off the main drag. Great base for walking up and down South Congress. And what's amazing is that unless you know where the Kimber is located you would be hard pressed to find it. Your car is parked right outside, too, so it's easy to get in and out for longer trips.

I could go on and on, but there are plenty of other reviews from which to choose. I know why they are all so positive. The Kimber Modern really is what it says it is. And rest assured that the photos on their website are accurate. They are not tricked up at all.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adapmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX 77030
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2009

My husband just returned from a phenomenal stay this weekend at the Kimber Modern. We wanted a hip/quiet place to stay for our 10th Anniversary and his birthday. We always stay at boutique hotels when we can. This one surpassed any we have ever stayed at! The location couldn't be any better...it's tucked away right behind The Continental Club, Amy's and Zen. The breakfast and HH each day are more than fabulous! Our room was beyond perfect in every way from the abundance of Malin+Goetz products, artwork, linens, layout, size, design, etc. The "common" area was far from common! We felt like we were staying in a piece of art that catered to our every whim! Did I mention you can get a capaccino or latte 24/7 in their glammed out kitchen? Oh, and the hammocks, mulit-leveled decking, landscaping...the list goes on and on! My husband made the comment that if we ever decide to build, we would model our home after the Kimber Modern. I can't say enough wonderful things about this place...if you get a chance to stay there...you'll know what I'm talking about!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40andFabin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I very much enjoyed my 2nd stay at the Kimber Modern. First visit was for pleasure and second business. I very much appreciate the yummy, healthy breakfast, the great hair care products in the shower, the VERY clean property, the lovely common areas and the complementary beverages at the end of the day!

The only little negatives were related to the computer (they have a mac for public use), but the friendly folks at the hotel were able to help me get my document printed so it wasn't at all an issue. I think I just have a PC bias!

The rooms are a little small, especially if you are sharing, but because the common area is so open and inviting, you don't feel confined to your room and so it's only a little issue.

Everyone at the Kimber Modern is open, welcoming, helpful, warm and friendly. What more can you ask for, really?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiznessTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Congress Hotel
#27 of 199 in Austin
235 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#20 of 199 in Austin
474 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 199 in Austin
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 199 in Austin
288 reviews
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 199 in Austin
1,226 reviews
The Driskill
#26 of 199 in Austin
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimber Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimber Modern Hotel

Property: Kimber Modern Hotel
Address: 110 The Cir, Austin, TX 78704-2485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimber Modern Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places you go. And then there are those indescribably alluring spots that draw you in at first glimpse. For the independent urban traveler seeking a unique escape, the Kimber Modern holds particular appeal. Perhaps it’s the clean lines of this architectural work of art tucked away within the hip, trendy and vibrant SoCo district. Maybe it’s the abundant light filtered through the canopy of oaks in the artfully landscaped Courtyard. Or it could be the absolute comfort and attention to detail found in each thoughtfully designed and technologically sophisticated room in this breathtaking boutique hotel. Regardless of what leads you to Austin, find yourself at the Kimber Modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kimber Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing