We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimber Modern Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$133
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Driskill(Austin)
$241
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$170
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
368
25
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomwhite suitesouth congresskeyless entrycontinental clubbeautiful treeoutdoor common areacommunity roomaccess codemalin and goetzsoco districthard boiled eggscomplimentary beerespresso machineprivate patioyogurtnever stay anywhere else
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 397 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2009

My partner and I were looking forward to a nice getaway in Austin. Without going into too much detail, the bottom line is the ladies of this place tried to charge us twice for a room (at $300 plus a night) and then charge us $50.00 for service fee! Not worth it. Stay at the San Jose or Austin Motel for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

My husband and I live in Austin but decided to stay here for his birthday weekend, ditching our dogs with a nearby friend. We absolutely loved it. It's a little expensive for us to do it often, but the next time we're ready to splurge, we're definitely calling the KimberModern.

Kimber & Vicky were gracious & friendly, their dog is hilarious, and the hotel itself is fantastic. We could've spent all day just hanging out on the deck & reading. but the location is fantastic & it seemed a shame not to wander the neighborhood at least a bit. The amenities are very thoughtful & high-end, and we loved our room - it was spartan & minimalist at the same time as being top-notch luxurious. Definitely consider this hotel for a weekend (or a week, if you're lucky!) in Austin. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aziek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Wanting to celebrate a milestone with a small group of friends (5 total), we decended upon Austin primarily for the reputation for music and the independent spirit of Austinites. After much searching the internet, choose the Kimber Modern for the helpfulness of the owners (Vicki and Kimber) and other staff via e-mail and phone. Location was ideal with excellent restaurants, fun and quirky establishment and, very close proximity to the Continental Club. It is a self serve B&B which provides you with an openess to do what you want, when you want - perfect for a group travel. Rooms are very clean and provide everything you could need as well as the best deck and common area you could ask for. Would definitely stay again at the Kimber Modern. Next time, we want to return when the bats have returned from Mexico!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weeneythebatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Celebrating 3 birthdays, 2 of which were milestone, our group of 5 from San Diego chose Austin for the music, and the Kimber Modern for location, and friendliness over the phone. We arrived to find a completely unique, relaxing and architecturely pleasing atmosphere unlike anywhere we have stayed in the past. We found the layout, carefully designed to complement nature, a haven for relaxation and conversation at all times of day. The rooms are all decorated in a refreshingly modern motif, with all the conveniences we expected and more. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the charming owners, friendly staff and other interesting guests. The atmosphere is very conducive to relaxation, conversation, or quiet reflection. We plan to return to both Austin and the Kimber Modern. Within a 1 minute walk to the famous Continental lounge and surrounding restaurants, it's the best location for those of us who like to party and not worry about getting home. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bayparkguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

For the discriminating traveler looking for the experience of living outside the envelope, give Kimber a try. Better than being at home! Unless, of course, you already live in a house designed by a high caliber architect. Kimber sets the standard for excellence.
Breakfast is lovely fresh fruit, yogurt, quiche, etc., at the help-yourself common room, which is quite uncommon. And afternoon happy hour helps to create a feeling of welcome. The staff is helpful with suggestions and friendly conversation. More like visiting with neighbors...
I came to Austin for the sunshine and warmth during this brutally cold winter and found an oasis of serenity at KimberModern. Lounging in the afternoon sun in the interior courtyard sure is better than shoveling snow and ice in the north.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank architectHoboken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews