We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Oasis in the Trees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimber Modern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil Oasis in the Trees”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you always wanted the feeling of living in a tree house but with modern accouterments and comforts, the Kimber Moden Hotel is as good as it gets.

This was our first visit to Austin and we weren't sure where to stay but went for the SoCa area for something other than the downtown high rise hotel experience. We were very happy with the choice in large part due to the Kimber Modern. The hotel is in a quiet location in SoCa yet within easy walking distance to the area's restaurants, clubs and shops.

Every room is unique at the hotel. We had the Red Suite which was very comfortable and quiet. We appreciated the big separate shower and tub and colorful furnishings. It's right next to the common room where a free continental breakfast is served in the morning and free beer/wines and snacks available in the early evening along with the other beverages available 24/7. Loved having filtered water available with full bottles in the room.

It was very relaxing sitting on the deck amongst the large tree branches and water fountain for meals or breaks (or taking a brief snooze in one of the hammocks).

The managers are very friendly and personally greet you upon your arrival. We enjoyed the hotel's seamless keyless entry system - no need to wait in line to go through a check in process. The managers offer great tips about the area and see if you might need anything not otherwise offerered by the hotel.

There is free covered parking at the hotel but there are not enough spaces for a car for each room - first come first served. There is free parking on the street in front of the hotel but may not be as appealing to those who are particular about parking their cars on the street. There is no elevator at the hotel so anyone with mobility challenges will need to take into account the climb up the 10 + stairs to the rooms from ground level.

We will definitely stay at Kimber Modern for our next visit to Austin!

Room Tip: Red Suite is in the back of the hotel away from street noise and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbrzezenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Owner at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Kimber Modern. It means the world to me when guests have a great experience at the hotel. My managers are the bomb for sure. They love their job and it shows. We are expanding downtown with a slightly larger hotel of 31 rooms and our goal is to maintain the Tranquil Oasis you are describing and the keyless entry and complimentary beverage bar and snacks. Come back soon.
Best,
Kimber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
186
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here recently for a couple of nights on a business trip to Austin. Loved it and will be staying here when I come back in a coupe of months.
Things I liked:
Very cool keyless entry system
Awesome design (both the public spaces and rooms)
Great (free) breakfast
Tasty free espresso all the time
Great desk in room
Very attentive and and helpful staff
Awesome shower
comfortable bed
The neighborhood is so cool--great coffee shops, restaurants, bars and music all within walking distance


Things I didn't like:
Nothing

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Owner at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Nat, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Kimber Modern and we appreciate your review. Please do come back in a couple of months; I'm sure we will have something new for you to try. Cheers, Kimber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were fortunate to have had friends rent out the Kimber Modern for SxSWi last week and stay there the entire time. I can't say enough about this wonderful property. I've worked around hospitality in the past, and these fine folks really 'get it' (I built sobe.com for Miami Beach back in the 90's and worked with tons of hotels and tourist stuff on their web sites etc...). Its a great location. A beautiful building, that they keep clean thanks to the tireless work of Paco and their managers Carrie and Cassie. The owners have a true vision and understanding of community. The breakfasts were healthy each day and the coffee machine is dabomb. They were accomodating to our needs and our other guests. It just made me feel like a home away from home. We even hosted a couple of events there over the weekend and the support they gave, from setup to cleanup was top notch. All of our guests were impressed, and despite the weather, enjoyed the time. We stayed in the red suite, which I can't recommend enough, it was perfect for what we needed. The bathrooms were stellar, and the water pressure was perfect for cleaning off those sxsw hangovers :) More photos to come soon. Thank you Kimber, Vicky, Carrie, Cassie and Paco for all you did - it was much appreciated!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, but I would choose to stay in either the red or white suite, or perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guruhuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We loved having your group stay with us for SWSWi. The events you hosted, inspite of the weather, allowed us the opportunity to participate in the interactive portion of SX and we are very appreciative. We hope to see you all again next year!
Best,
Cassie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The rooms at the Kimber Modern surround this beautiful deck built around a tree. The space doubles as the hang-out/reception area and has the feel of a really beautiful treehouse. While waiting for our room, our friend asked, "do you ever go to a hotel and just relax in their lounge?" To which we unanimously responded, 'No." He replied, "because that's exactly what we're doing right now." That's part of the charm of the Kimber Modern -- it's so open and airy that we found ourselves relaxing. The rooms are spotless and the large walk-in showers, as most reviewers have said, were divine. It's not a typical B&B in the sense that guests are expected to be kind of independent -- we let ourselves in, we got our own breakfast and entertained ourselves -- and I loved that. I thought breakfast was pretty good and typical to what I've eaten at other B&Bs -- eggs, yogurt, juice, scones, fruit and DYI lattes, which btw, fantastic coffee. We had a parking spot for the car and beer in the fridge. Oh, and seltzer water!! I have no idea how they thought to do this but every room comes with two bottles that guests can fill with either seltzer or still water from a machine in the kitchen. It was such a nice touch, because, uh, y'know, seltzer water's great.

My husband and I loved that experience and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOR307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for such a great review. We are so happy you enjoyed our intimate space under our Live Oaks. We hope you can stay again on your next visit to Austin. Look for our new property opening off Rainey St. in 2015
Best-
Cassie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

They don't miss a thing when it comes to making you feel welcome. It was freezing in Austin that day & they brought in a portable heater so our room was extra toasty when we arrived. The regular rooms are great but I wish I would've booked a suite after reading the other reviews. There's a train that wasn't shy about blowing it's horn all night but that's certainly not KM's fault & given the proximity to the tracks, you'd be hard-pressed to find a hotel in SOCO where you don't hear them. I loved the breakfast selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, pastries, bagels, etc. & thought it was a nice change from greasy hotel breakfast buffets. There's no shortage of restaurants within walking distance so it was nice to park the rental car & wander down the street to sample some of the best food Austin has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks Victoria for your wonderful review and I am so happy you were able to stay warm during our freeze! We hope you will come back and visit us again, Our new hotel on Rainey street should be completed at the end of 2015 We would love for you to stay with us there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nestled off the street not too far from down town and adjacent to several restaurants and clubs it offers a unique experience. Modernistic every thing with rooms surrounding an open court yard like deck with seating and hammocks. Rooms have names of colors instead of numbers. Quirk is colors have nothing to do with the decor. Love the number pad door locks, No keys to worry about. Drinks and breakfast are included, help yourself. Accommodations are clean and sufficient in every way . The staff are helpful if you need them but mostly leave you alone.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the main lounge may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Owner at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thanks so much Glenn for your review of the Kimber Modern. We hope you come again and stay with us again at this location or our new downtown Rainey Street location. Breaking ground in a couple of months. Thirty room hotel with a mid-centruy modern cocktail lounge/restaurant. The architecture will be amazing to say the least. Best wishes, Kimber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I am from the Austin area and came home for a visit. I was absolutely amazed by the Kimber modern Hotel. From the time we walked in Cassie coming in to greet us in the cool common room as we had a cappuccino! We were able to meet Kimber and she is amazing and you can see where the vision comes from. The rooms are so comfortable yet so modern. No detail left undone!!! From the comfortable beds, to the beautiful walk in tile shower it is all of the comfort of home but even better! Now lets talk about the view! When you look out of your room there is a beautiful deck built around an old oak tree and it is so inviting to have a wine or beer that is provided in the kitchen/common room. No nickel and diming at this place!! I cannot say enough about the Kimber Modern. I again want to thank Kimber, Cassie and their wonderful staff for an inspiring visit back to Austin. I will never stay anywhere else when I return to Austin- They have a customer for life in me!! Love you guys!! Gema Pearl

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gema p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberModern, Owner at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We enjoyed having you both at the Kimber Modern. Thanks for your signed head shot and also your Christmas CD. Not sure if Cassie told you we listened to your DC in the common room. You have a beautiful voice and your songs were great. Best of luck to you, come back soon.
Kimber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
547 reviews
South Congress Hotel
#23 of 203 in Austin
254 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,274 reviews
Hotel San Jose
#69 of 203 in Austin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimber Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimber Modern Hotel

Property: Kimber Modern Hotel
Address: 110 The Cir, Austin, TX 78704-2485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimber Modern Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places you go. And then there are those indescribably alluring spots that draw you in at first glimpse. For the independent urban traveler seeking a unique escape, the Kimber Modern holds particular appeal. Perhaps it’s the clean lines of this architectural work of art tucked away within the hip, trendy and vibrant SoCo district. Maybe it’s the abundant light filtered through the canopy of oaks in the artfully landscaped Courtyard. Or it could be the absolute comfort and attention to detail found in each thoughtfully designed and technologically sophisticated room in this breathtaking boutique hotel. Regardless of what leads you to Austin, find yourself at the Kimber Modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Kimber Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing