We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimber Modern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My college roommate and I just returned from a quick visit to Austin where we stayed in the Kimber Modern Blue House. A very quaint bungalow around the corner from the Kimber Modern. Not only was the bungalow quaint, no detail was left unfinished. The bedding and the towels were high quality, the finishing touches of wine in the refrigerator, tea and coffee as well as wireless internet and printing were all greatly appreciated. The Blue House also allows access to the Kimber Modern where we were able to enjoy breakfast and the beautiful setting.

There is no doubt any future visit to Austin will include a stay at the Kimber Modern. Thank you Cassie and Kimber for everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkhoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
186
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My adult daughter and I enjoyed every aspect of the Kimber Modern. No guest need or convenience was overlooked. The aesthetics and architecture were unique and the porch with its ample shade provided a serene setting to sit and relax. The common area, where libations are set up for happy hour and a simple and delicious breakfast is served, was immediately next door to the Red Suite where we stayed. We particularly liked the self-serve latte/expresso machine. So much thought and exquisite taste has gone into every detail of this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DowntimeDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our daughter suggested we stay at the Kimber Modern on a recent trip to Austin and it was great advice! The Kimber Modern combines a modern, clean aesthetc with a timeless sense of place. We'll book it every chance we can on future trips to Austin

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

What a wonderful surprise! Heading into Austin--a town we know very well--we wanted a "different" experience...and that is what we found. Lovely, quiet, clean, cool, SOOO Austin. We enjoyed the codes instead of keys, the absence of fake fawning desk clerks, the neighborhood, and the wonderful room--the White Suite with its private outdoor deck. The spread at breakfast was minimalist, yet satisfying: hard boiled eggs, bagels, banana bread, fruit, yogurt, and spectacular lattes! The happy hour snacks were greatly appreciated--wine, beer, sodas, cheese, fruit. The in-room minibar stocked with wine, beer, soda, and water--all free with room! STRONG free wi-fi throughout--in our room as well as in the common spaces. Comfy beds, big towels, and high quality speakers for my iPhone rounded out a great stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Popscicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We did a full house booking for the weekend with a large group and absolutely loved it. Couldn't ask for any better. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and beautiful with all the amenities. The common area with kitchen made a large group event much more fun and easy to stay connected. We enjoyed the outdoor area as well, especially during breakfast and happy hour every day. The hotel's location is great... right on South Congress where there are a ton of great restaurants, bars, shops and very close-by many other great Austin hot spots (outdoor activities and night life).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I read the reviews here before I booked but I was not prepared for just how different the experience was to be. Yes its great architecture, cool rooms, great use of the outdoors, great breakfast, etc. But it also somehow all works with zero human interaction. Zero.

I pulled up and there was another woman getting out of a taxi looking for an elevator and the front desk. Sorry, wrong spot. No front desk, no concierge, no bartender, no waiter, no phone operator, not even a phone! But who needs a phone in their hotel room these days? I hadn't even thought about how asinine hotel phones are in today's world until I realized my room had none.

All hotels should be this way. Another reviewer compared it to an ATM. If you still like going inside the bank and dealing with a teller, this is probably not the place for you.

Congratulations to the owners. They have created an incredible experience for their guests. I cannot imagine how much planning had to go into their efforts.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank brco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Have stayed here several times. If you like privacy, self sufficient access to breakfast, snacks, gourmet coffee and beverages (and full kitchen if you really need it), and a wonderful modern aesthetic this is your place. When service is required, the very cool and accomodating staff are only a call away. Beds are comfy-baths are divine. These guys think of EVERYTHING!
The suites and rooms in the rear are the best- you can get some club noise from the front rooms, but all part of SoCo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvlatitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
547 reviews
South Congress Hotel
#23 of 203 in Austin
254 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 203 in Austin
1,274 reviews
Hotel San Jose
#69 of 203 in Austin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimber Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimber Modern Hotel

Property: Kimber Modern Hotel
Address: 110 The Cir, Austin, TX 78704-2485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimber Modern Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places you go. And then there are those indescribably alluring spots that draw you in at first glimpse. For the independent urban traveler seeking a unique escape, the Kimber Modern holds particular appeal. Perhaps it’s the clean lines of this architectural work of art tucked away within the hip, trendy and vibrant SoCo district. Maybe it’s the abundant light filtered through the canopy of oaks in the artfully landscaped Courtyard. Or it could be the absolute comfort and attention to detail found in each thoughtfully designed and technologically sophisticated room in this breathtaking boutique hotel. Regardless of what leads you to Austin, find yourself at the Kimber Modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kimber Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing