We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
100
11
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
11
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavender suite moonlight suite pool and hot tub garden room wonderful hosts continental breakfast was perfect recommend casa relaxing stay beautiful pool thought of everything small bathroom highly recommend staying here beautiful property home away from home every morning living area pool area
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 119 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

let me start by saying that this place made me realize that most hotels are really not in the business of providing comfort or relaxation. Casa Del Sol was a most relaxing destination and made us forget all of our troubles. The service is great and Doug made sure that if we needed anything he was available. We rented both rooms and we were very satisfied with the level of comfort and decor. The entire property was clean and well kept. The rooms are decorated with a kitschy southwest feel (Sol is the focus) and the beds are really comfortable. The kitchen areas while a little small were very useful and the smaller unit had a full size refrigerator. this combined with the BBQ in the back yard and the comfort level gets even higher! The grounds are open and green with a fire pit and a fountain that will put you to sleep with its mellow sounds. The Jacuzzi was great and we used it every day of our stay (4 nights). The house dog Muffin was really well behaved and was not the way at any time. All in all a great place to stay and we will definitely be coming back again this year. If you like staying in hotels and you like the impersonal nature of those establishments this place is not for you. If you want to get away and enjoy yourself without any worries then this place is for you!

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you are looking for a super fancy, being waited on hand and foot and no peace bed and breakfast, then this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for peace, serenity, quiet, charming and inviting, then welcome home. Casa del Sol at Lake Austin was by far one of the best trips we had taken in a very long time. I am from the mountains of the Sangre de Cristos in Colorado and this took me right back home. The tiles in the rooms, the ceramic suns, hammocks, everything was perfect. It is a bit on the rustic side, but that just adds to the charm.
The best perk of the trip was the resident dog Muffin. oh how we feel in love with Muffin. I am not a dog person but I must say that I had a hard time saying goodbye to her. She was so calm and quiet but loved being near us. We rented one room and our friends rented the other, so we had the entire property to our selves. So we would leave our door open to catch the breeze and have easy access to our fridge. Muffin would come in and take a nap at the foot of our bed. We just loved her lazy, calm attitude.
The hot tub was amazing, a little cool for the pool this time of year but the fountain in the pool made for such a sweet sound.
Our friends got engaged by the fire pit and I will say all of the ambient lightning made for some beautiful pictures as we caught their special moment on film.
We will most definitely return. Can't get back soon enough!!! Thank you Doug so much!

Oh one more thing, the bed was AMAZING!!! Very comfortable and loved the eyelet accented sheets. Gorgeous!!

Room tip: Either room is great. The lavender room has a separate living area. The other room has a fridge and stove.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grlchili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We returned to Casa del Sol after a wonderful, relaxing weekend there this past summer. Once again, we were well taken care of! The sounds of the fountain are so relaxing as we would sit on the patio multiple times each day. I love the location (we love the nearby Steiner Ranch). The owner's dog Muffin is a sweet sweet pup and we always enjoy the enthusiastic greeting and seeing her perched nearby as we relaxed.

After reading the negative post, I was taken a bit aback. We have been here twice and never noticed the smell they refer to. The facilities in the larger suite are indeed an interesting layout, but it didn't bother us to take turns in the space as I would rather relax by the pool than join my man at the vanity :)

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We chose this specific bed and breakfast based on all of the great reviews on TripAdvisor, but I have to say that we were not impressed and did not enjoy staying here. First, the place was overdecorated with out-of-date decor, which made the place seem very cluttered. The "bathroom/kitchenette" area is separated by a small trail that will only fit one person and we could basically sit on the toilet and make coffee at the same time as a result. The worst part is that the place smelled like SEWAGE!! Every time you flushed the toilet, ran the water, or took a shower, the scent of feces covered the entire place and lingered the entire time we were there, which made it almost unbearable to remain in the cottage. The pull out couch had the most uncomfortable mattress that not even my youngest daughter could sleep on and I question if the sheets were clean. Another thing is that while we are not dog lovers, we can tolerate dogs well. However, the owner's dog greeted us at the gate, jumped on us the entire time, and would enter our cottage every time the door was open. When walking around the pool, we stepped in dog poop indicating that the grounds are not as clean as one would expect since dogs were allowed. The "garden" area was unkept and needed to be maintained or groomed a little more aggressively. The pool and hot tub was nice, but only if you enjoy smelling sewage with your swim. The owner is super nice but that's about all this place has going for it.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheColonyLovinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinCata, Owner at Casa del Sol Bed and Breakfast at Lake Travis, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

I don't even know quite how to respond to this review, although I feel I must, since it's the first one to appear now, at the top of the list of 24 beautiful reviews, some from repeat customers...

We were chosen as one of the top romantic B&B's at Lake Travis by Austin Monthly Magazine.

Rest assured our Austin city water is quite clean, in the cottage, suite, hot tub and pool! (see other reviews)

We have guest review books in each room, going back years, full of beautiful reviews from new and repeat customers.

As for decor and garden, upon arriving, many people tell us that the website photos don't do it justice.

So take a look at the pictures of house, decor,... and garden, : ) on this website, and our own, at casadelsolbedandbreakfast.com. Or feel free to call us with any questions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here for my birthday. I have to say, it was the most relaxing birthday ever! We visited a couple of nice eestaurants in the area and spent the rest of the weekend relaxing in the swimming pool and the hot tub.

Date of stay: June 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews